Now Again


Hurry - Only 4 left in stock!
Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Flatlanders: Joe Ely (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, dobro, harmonica, keyboards, bass); Butch Hancock (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica); Jimmie Dale Gilmore (vocals, acoustic guitar).
  • Additional personnel includes: Mitch Watkins (guitar).
  • Recorded at Spur, Pedernales Studios, Austin, Texas.
  • Personnel: Robbie Gjersoe (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, dobro); Joe Ely (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, dobro, harmonica, keyboards, bass guitar); Butch Hancock (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica); Jimmie Dale Gilmore (vocals, acoustic guitar); Gary Herman (vocals, bass guitar); Steve Wesson (vocals, musical saw); Tony Pearson (vocals); Mitch Watkins (guitar); Lloyd Maines (steel guitar, dobro); Paul Glasse (mandolin); Gene Elders (fiddle); Joel Jose Guzman (accordion); Chris Searles, Rafael Gayol (drums, percussion).
  • Recording information: Apur Studios, Austin, TX; Pedernales Studio, Austin, TX.
  • Photographers: Sharon Ely; Joe Ely; Butch Hancock.
  • Even by the most lackadaisical release schedule, three decades is a bit of a wait between a group's first and second albums. Of course, this pause in the discography of progressive-country cult heroes the Flatlanders can be explained by the fact that each of the three members spent the time in the middle becoming respected solo singer-songwriters. Still, it sounds like no time passed at all between the posthumously released MORE A LEGEND THAN A BAND and the reunited bliss of NOW AGAIN, as the reunited band's mix of traditional country, Townes Van Zandt-like troubadourism, and cowboy mysticism remains unquestionably intact and vital.
  • The group's three-part harmonies are employed to maximum effect on the sparkling, '60s-pop-inflected "Julia." "Waving My Heart Goodbye" and "My Wildest Dreams Grow Wilder Every Day" show the band's knack for adding witty lyrics to honky-tonk grooves. The Joe Ely-sung "I Thought the Wreck Was Over" is a light-hearted romp that utilizes Ely's trademark roughneck vocal style well. Though the otherworldly tremolo of the group's most affecting singer Jimmie Dale Gilmore is the dominant vocal element,and Butch Hancock's metaphysical, post-Dylan lyrics emblazon themselves most strongly on the listener's mind, almost all the songs on NOW AGAIN are group-penned and show the work of a truly collaborative outfit once more at the peak of its considerable powers.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (6/20/02, p.87) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...As a devil-may-care hoot, it's one for the ages."

Entertainment Weekly (5/31/02, p.109) - "...A gleeful reunion..." - Rating: A-

CMJ (6/02, p.37) - "...A very fine album that was worth the wait."

Mojo (Publisher) (8/02, p.100) - "...Folk-blues, country and rockabilly with a marvellous feel..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Now Again on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top