Love Travels


Hurry - Only 3 left in stock!
Product Description
Product Details


1. Love Travels

2. Sending Me Angels

3. Patiently Waiting

4. If That's What You Call Love

5. Further And Further Away

6. V55 Rocket

7. I'm On Your Side

8. The Bridge

9. All Roads To The River

10. The End Of The Line

11. Beautiful Fool

Performer Notes
  • Personnel includes: Kathy Mattea (vocals); Bob Halligan, Jr. (acoustic guitar, piano); Jim Lauderdale, Bill Cooley, Don Potter (acoustic guitar); Duke Levine (electric guitar); Paul Franklin, Steve Sturm (pedal steel guitar); Stuart Duncan (mandolin); Jerry Douglas (dobro); Chris Carmichael (violin); Steve Lauer (accordion, harmonium); Hunter Lee (whistle, bagpipes); Lionel Cartwright (piano, background vocals); Matt Rollings (piano, Hammond B-3); Ben Wisch (synthesizer, background vocals); Tim Lauer (synthesizer); Edgar Meyer (acoustic bass); James "Hutch" Hutchinson (bass); Abe Laboriel, Jr, (drums, percussion); Jim Keltner (drums); Kirby Shelstad (percussion); Jonatha Brooke, Michael McDonald, Kim Richey (background vocals).
  • Recorded at Woodland Studios, Nashville, Tennessee.
  • Personnel: Kathy Mattea (vocals, guitar).
  • Producers: Kathy Mattea; Ben Wisch.
  • Recording information: Woodland Studios, Nashville, TN.
  • Mattea is a tasteful, thoughtful singer who uses country music as a means to an end. Her music is not so much rooted in the country tradition as it is a by-product of it. Mattea's roots are more James Taylor than George Jones, and while steel guitars and 2/4 rhythms abound, LOVE TRAVELS is more an album of stylized Nashville folk-pop than neo-country.
  • To flesh out her introspective vision, Mattea reaches beyond the usual stable of Nashville songwriters to include songs by some honest-to-god singer-songwriter types. Gillian Welch contributes "Patiently Waiting" and "455 Rocket," and they show Welch to be capable of writing outside her own trad-country performance style. Jim Lauderdale's "I'm On Your Side," an unsentimental oath of loyalty, is one of the album's highlights. Janis Ian's moody, minor-key "All Roads To The River" lends a dark side to LOVE TRAVELS. The clean but homey production of Mattea and Ben Wisch creates an atmosphere through which the subtle beauty of the songs can clearly be seen.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (2/14/97, p.63) - "...By setting lyrics about personal growth against splashes of Celtic fiddle and percussive world beats, Mattea strays from the Nashville norm to turn in her most mature and focused work yet." - Rating: B+
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Love Travels on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top