Australasia's Biggest Online Store

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Locked Down

Album: Locked Down
# Song Title   Time
1)    Locked Down
2)    Revolution
3)    Big Shot
4)    Ice Age
5)    Getaway
6)    Kingdom of Izzness
7)    You Lie
8)    Eleggua
9)    My Children, My Angels
10)    God's Sure Good
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Dr. John (vocals, keyboards); Brian Olive (guitar, woodwinds, percussion, background vocals); Dan Auerbach (guitar, percussion, background vocals); Leon Michels (woodwinds, keyboards, percussion, background vocals); Nick Movshon (upright bass, electric bass, percussion, background vocals); Max Weissenfeldt (drums, percussion, background vocals); Alfred McCrary, Ann McCrary, Regina McCrary (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: Collin Dupuis; Dan Auerbach.
  • Liner Note Author: Gabe Soria.
  • Recording information: Easy Eye Sound, Nashville, TN.
  • Photographers: John Peets; Joshua Black Wilkins; Alysse Gafkjen.
  • In his 72nd year on the planet, New Orleans' own Dr. John issues Locked Down, recorded in Nashville with the Black Keys' Dan Auerbach as producer, and a host of younger players. The pair cut tracks that evoke his earliest experiments on Atlantic Records--melding New Orleans R&B, swampy rock, and tripped-out grooves--without sounding retro.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.63) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Full of muscled, vintage R&B grooves, fevered soloing, psychedelic arrangements and oracular mumbo jumbo, it's the wildest record Rebennack has made in many years."

Entertainment Weekly (p.72) - "[T]here's no denying the vintage voodoo -- or the palpable disgust -- the Doctor summons with DAn Auerbach of the Black Keys..." -- Grade: A-

Magnet (p.54) - "The result is sharp and well-recorded....The urgent grooves on 'Getaway,' with its psychedelic flourishes, will sound good on the radio..."

Billboard (p.36) - "'Eleggua' overlaps Curtis Mayfield, gris-gris funk and a sweet soul hook; and 'You Lie' offers a taste of what Dr. John would sound like if the Black Keys and Morphine joined forces to back him."

Q (Magazine) (p.96) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "It still oozes that very specific, seamy Dr John funk throughout, from the brilliantly delirious title track through to his pitch black state-of-the nation address in 'Ice Age'..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.93) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he night tripping grooves are tight, cosmically inclined, and brewed with a real soulfulness."

Uncut (magazine) (p.62) - "Throughout, Weissenfeldt's beats are savage. The horn accents are sharp and soulful."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Blues
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Locked Down on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top