Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Eva by Heart

Album: Eva by Heart
# Song Title   Time
1)    I Know You by Heart
2)    Time Is a Healer
3)    Wayfaring Stranger
4)    Wade in the Water
5)    Blues in the Night
6)    Songbird
7)    Need Your Love So Bad
8)    Say Goodbye
9)    Nightbird
10)    Waly Waly
11)    How Can I Keep from Singing?
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Eva Cassidy (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, wah-wah guitar, cello, strings, keyboards, background vocals); Chris Biondo (acoustic guitar, drum programming); Keith Grimes (electric guitar); Karen Van Sant, Dan Cassidy, Mike Stein (violin); Lenny Williams (strings, organ, keyboards); Leigh Pilzer (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Chris Walker (trumpet); Doug Elliot, Dan Haverstock (trombone); Mark Carson (piano, background vocals); Kent Wood (piano); John Gillespie (organ, background vocals); Anthony Flowers (organ); William Ju Ju House, Raice McLeod (drums); Chuck Brown (background vocals).
  • Audio Remasterer: Robert Vosgien.
  • Liner Note Author: Joel Siegel.
  • Arranger: Eva Cassidy.
  • An album both haunting and inspiring, tragic and mesmerizing, Eva by Heart was the singer's only true studio album, and hints at the promise which was never to materialize due to her early demise from cancer. Five of the songs on this set ("I Know You by Heart," "Time Is a Healer," "Wayfaring Stranger," "Wade in the Water," and "Songbird") appear on her Songbird collection. The import version of Eva by Heart contains an extra track, "Dark End of the Street," which does not appear on the American version, or on any of her albums for that matter. The styles range from folksy (the sweet "I Know You by Heart"), to soulful ("Time Is a Healer"), to introspective ("Say Goodbye," "Waly Waly"), to downright rousing ("Wayfaring Stranger," "How Can I Keep From Singing?") and bluesy ("Blues in the Night."). Eva's voice always sounds crystalline, and her interpretive skills are unmatched (as evidenced on her lovely take of Christine McVie's "Songbird"). The woman had the power to transform a standard or a traditional into her own song, and she could belt out the blues just as good as anybody else (take one listen to "Blues in the Night" or her duet with Chuck Brown, "Need Your Love So Bad"). This disc, as with any of her works, and the posthumous fame she achieved but never sought, stand as testimony as to how true artistry, despite whatever circumstances, has the capacity to transcend, and her story should prove inspiring to any truly talented and struggling musician out in the world. ~ Jose Promis
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Eva by Heart on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top