SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Blue Moves

Album: Blue Moves
# Song Title   Time
  Disc 1
1)    Your Starter For ... More Info... 1:24
2)    Tonight More Info... 7:52
3)    One Horse Town More Info... 5:57
4)    Chameleon More Info... 5:28
5)    Boogie Pilgrim More Info... 6:06
6)    Cage The Songbird More Info... 3:26
7)    Crazy Water More Info... 5:43
8)    Shoulder Holster More Info... 5:10
  Disc 2
1)    Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word More Info... 3:49
2)    Out Of The Blue More Info... 6:15
3)    Between Seventeen And Twenty More Info... 5:18
4)    The Wide-Eyed And Laughing More Info... 3:28
5)    Someone's Final Song More Info... 4:11
6)    Where's The Shoorah? More Info... 4:09
7)    If There's A God In Heaven (What's He Waiting For?) More Info... 4:25
8)    Idol More Info... 4:09
9)    Theme From A Non-Existent TV Series More Info... 1:19
10)    Bite Your Lip (Get Up And Dance!) More Info... 6:44
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Elton John (vocals, piano, harpsichord); Davey Johnstone (guitar, mandolin); Caleb Quaye (guitar); Michael Hurwirz (cello); David Sanborn (saxophone); Barry Rogers, Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker (horns); James Newton-Howard (piano, organ, synthesizer); Kenny Pasarrelli (bass); Roger Pope (drums); Ray Cooper (percussion); The Cornerstone Institutional Baptist Choir, Southern California Community Choir, Bruce Johnston, Graham Nash, Curt Becher, Clark Burroughs, Joe Chemay, Jon Joyce, Cindy Bullens, Ron Hicklin, Toni Tennille, David Crosby, Gene Morford (background vocals).
  • Engineers include: Gus Dudgeon, John Kurtlander, Earl Mankey.
  • Recorded at Eastern Sound, Toronto, Canada. Includes liner notes by Gus Dudgeon.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered by Gus Dudgeon.
  • Personnel: Elton John (vocals, piano, harpsichord, electric harpsichord, harmonium, keyboards); Davey Johnstone (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, dulcimer, mandolin, sitar, synthesizer); Cindy Bullens, Clark Burroughs, David Crosby, Graham Nash, Gene Morford, Toni Tennille, Joe Chemay, Ron Hicklin (vocals, background vocals); Jan Joyce, Cornerstone Choir (vocals); Caleb Quaye (guitar, acoustic guitar, acoustic 12-string guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar); Dani Davey (electric guitar, slide guitar, mandolin); Michael Hurwitz (cello); Martyn Ford, Gene Page (strings); Carl Fortina (accordion); James Newton Howard (clarinet, electric piano, organ, Mellotron, keyboards, synthesizer); David Sanborn (saxophone, horns); Michael Brecker, Randy Brecker, The Brecker Brothers, Barry Rogers (horns); James ? (electric piano, Clavinet, organ, synthesizer); Ray Cooper (vibraphone, marimba, glockenspiel, congas, finger cymbals, shaker, tambourine, triangle, tubular bells, percussion, gong); Ray (vibraphone, marimba, glockenspiel, congas, tambourine, bells, gong); Roger Pope (drums); Jon Joyce , Curt Becher, Crosby & Nash, Bruce Johnston (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Phil Dunne.
  • Audio Remixers: Gus Dudgeon; Phil Dunne.
  • Liner Note Author: Gus Dudgeon.
  • Recording information: Additional Locations; Brother Studio, Santa Monica, CA; Eastern Sound, Toronto, Canada; Eastrn Sound, Toronto, Ontario, Canada; EMI Abbey Road Studios, London, England; Sunset Sound Recorders, LA, CA.
  • Director: James Cleveland.
  • Photographer: David Nutter.
  • Arrangers: Daryl Dragon; James Newton Howard; Curt Becher; Paul Buckmaster; Bruce Johnston .
  • BLUE MOVES was Elton John's first double-album since 1973's GOODBYE YELLOW BRICK ROAD and his last full collaboration with Bernie Taupin before taking a two-year break from the lyricist. MOVES also signaled the end of a Golden Age marked by a string of wildly successful albums (including the aforementioned ROAD and CARIBOU) and non-stop, sold-out tours. This melancholy 1976 release includes what would be EJ's last Top 10 hit for three years ("Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word") and is loaded with numbers reflecting the ennui and burnout both John and Taupin were experiencing at the time ("Between Seventeen And Twenty," "If There's A God In Heaven [What's He Waiting For?]"). Elsewhere, John and Taupin write songs in tribute to Edith Piaf ("Cage The Songbird") and a depressingly debilitated Elvis Presley ("Idol").
  • Despite the inclusion of these and other heart-wrenching compositions like "Tonight," John's irrepressible upbeat attitude comes to the fore on tracks such as the Caleb Quaye instrumental "Your Starter For..." and "One Horse Town," a peppy song about life in the rural South. Most gratifying is a collaboration with the Reverend James Cleveland and his Southern California Choir on the funky "Boogie Pilgrim."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Blue Moves on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top