SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Adolescent Sex [Remaster]

Album: Adolescent Sex [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Transmission
2)    Unconventional, The
3)    Wish You Were Black
4)    Performance
5)    Lovers on Main Street
6)    Don't Rain on My Parade
7)    Suburban Love
8)    Adolescent Sex
9)    Communist China
10)    Television
11)    Don't Rain on My Parade
12)    Communist China
13)    Adolescent Sex
14)    Adolescent Sex
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Japan: David Sylvian, Rob Dean (vocals, guitar); Richard Barbieri (keyboards, synthesizer); Mick Karn (bass, saxophone, background vocals); Steven Jansen (drums, percussion, background vocals).
  • Additional personnel: Ray Singer, Anna, Claudine (background vocals).
  • Japan (Rock): David Sylvian, Mick Karn, Richard Barbieri, Rob Dean, Steve Jansen .
  • Personnel: David Sylvian, Rob Dean (vocals, guitar); Richard Barbieri (vocals, keyboards); Mick Karn (vocals, bass guitar); Steve Jansen (vocals, drums, percussion); Ray Singer (vocals).
  • Recording information: Audio International Studios, London, England.
  • Photographer: Graham Hughes.
  • In 1977, the German label Hansa held a contest that elicited entries from over 1000 bands. The eight winners, including Japan (and an unknown group called the Easy Cure who later became the Cure) received recording contracts and, a year later, ADOLESCENT SEX hit the shops. Perhaps because of its glamrock-esque cover art (this at the height of the first wave of English punk rock), it was largely ignored.
  • The band's vocalist David Sylvian is legendarily unhappy with the record, and it is possible to guess why: it contains some fairly misguided lyrics--especially on "Wish You Were Black." The album probably seemed pretty edgy and hip at the time, however, complete with its truly odd version of a Barbara Streisand standard, "Don't Rain on My Parade," complete with "ooo-eee-ooo" backing vocals. The record does contain at least two lasting classics: the title track, with its growling "Just keep on dancing" lyric, brittle guitar shards, and punchy rhythm section, and "Communist China," featuring several of Sylvian's early vocal experiments. However, as with all of Japan's albums, the unsung star is Mick Karn's stunningly versatile bass playing, and that is more than enough reason to disagree with Sylvian.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » New Romantic
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Adolescent Sex [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top