Safiyyah's War
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Hiba is the author of One Home, Inspiring Inventors Who Are Changing Our Future, The Extraordinary Life of Malala Yousafzai, and the picture book The Little War Cat. Hiba has many strings to her bow: she’s a physics teacher and a recent Global Diplomacy graduate. Hiba is also an activist, she’s worked for The Children’s Society as a Refugee Advocate and for the United Nations IOM on international development projects. She’s also delivered humanitarian aid in Syrian refugee camps and worked on reforestation initiatives in Tanzania.

Reviews

"Written with rich detail about Paris and Islam, [Safiyyah's War] is a vivid tale of people finding courage, connection and empathy for each other"
*The Sunday Times*

"A heartfelt and tragically timely paean to religious tolerance"
*TLS, Best Children's Books of 2023*

"This story of heroism, shared humanity and hope cherished against long odds is so beautifully written it will be hard for any reader of 9+ to forget"
*Guardian*

"Luminous prose... a riveting read for children and adults alike"
*New York Times*

"Perfect reading for fans of Katherine Rundell and Emma Carroll, Safiyyah's War is a riveting, deeply poignant period novel"
*Waterstones, July's Best Children's Books 2023*

"A lyrical, spiritual book"
*Jewish Chronicle*

"Safiyyah's War has the soul of a classic and the urgency of a story for our times. A tale of tolerance, unthinkable bravery, and heart-in-mouth true events. I loved this book."
*Kiran Millwood Hargrave*

"All at once, Safiyyah's War broke my heart and filled me with immense hope. With its unforgettable characters and exquisite storytelling, this really is an extraordinary book"
*A F Steadman*

"Safiyyah is a protagonist I was rooting for all throughout; a lovely, kind-hearted girl whose story filled me in turns with despair and joy. This book shines through with kindness and empathy at its very heart"
*Nizrana Farook*

"This story of extraordinary bravery, based on little-known events, is both inspiring and uplifting"
*The Bookseller, Editor's Choice*

"A must-read distinguished by its powerful plot and poignant writing"
*Kirkus, starred review*

Ask a Question About this Product More...
 
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Safiyyah's War on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top