One Woman's War
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Christine Wells writes historical fiction featuring strong, fascinating women. From early childhood, she drank in her father's tales about the real kings and queens behind popular nursery rhymes and she has been a keen student of history ever since. She began her first novel while working as a corporate lawyer, and has gone on to write about periods ranging from Georgian England to post World War II France. Christine is passionate about helping other writers learn the craft and business of writing fiction and enjoys mentoring and teaching workshops whenever her schedule permits. She loves dogs, running, the beach and fossicking for antiques and lives with her family in Brisbane, Australia.

Reviews

“Forget James Bond. Say hello to the real-life Miss Moneypenny, whose life was as replete with spycraft, adventure and daring as any true hero’s. Through Christine Wells’ skillful storytelling, Paddy Bennett, aka Miss Moneypenny, doesn’t just shine – she dazzles like the star she was. Just like you’ll be cheering for the heroine of One Woman’s War, you’ll be cheering Christine Wells for writing this brilliant book.” — Natasha Lester, New York Times bestselling author of The Riviera House

"One Woman’s War is the ultimate spy novel about the brave, real-life women behind the Bond books. Christine Wells places us in the middle of the action with superb writing that will have your heart pounding through the adventures of these dazzling women. This gripping novel is one you will not be able to put down!" — Madeline Martin, New York Times and international bestselling author ofThe Last Bookshop in London

"One Woman's War is a thrilling and suspenseful ride, perfect for fans of Kate Quinn, Beatriz Williams and Natasha Lester. Inspired by historic events, this story will have readers on the edge of their seats. Christine Wells’ masterful characterization and meticulous research have made for one of the best books of the year." — Kelly Rimmer, New York Times bestselling author of The German Wife

“A pulse-pounding thrill ride of a read, One Woman's War pulls back the curtain on one of the most covert operations of World War II, while also immersing readers in the fascinating foundations of 007-lore. Powerful reading you won't want to put down!" — Stephanie Marie Thornton, USA Today bestselling author of A Most Clever Girl

“A thrilling spy novel with a splash of glamour and plenty of intrigue, Christine Wells has penned an exciting WWII adventure of the real-life Miss Moneypenny and 007 that will keep you turning the pages until you reach the end. I highly recommend this exciting and daring book!” — Eliza Knight, USA Today bestselling author of The Mayfair Bookshop

"Christine Wells has crafted a spy novel worthy of Bond himself, bringing the unbelievable true story of Operation Mincemeat to life through the eyes of two unforgettable, real-life female operatives. A must-read!" — Bryn Turnbull, bestselling author of The Last Grand Duchess

“With a dazzling cast from history, and a wild gamble of a mission, One Woman's War is a testament to the brilliance and daring of women and men in WWII. In true Fleming/Bond form, Wells has crafted a glamorous, engaging novel full intrigue, but one that also humanizes and brings to life many complicated people and terrifying situations. Mix a martini and settle in.” — Erika Robuck, bestselling author of Sisters of Night and Fog

“One Woman’s War takes the reader on a breathtaking voyage to the glamour and edge-of-the-seat danger of London in the Blitz, as two very different women risk everything in a daring ruse that out-Bonds Bond. Christine Wells’ latest is such a great wartime thriller that Ian Fleming himself would be envious!” — Anna Campbell, bestselling author of the A Scandal in Mayfair series

"Double agents, double crosses, double lives - this engrossing spy thriller has it all, and with a feminist perspective to boot! Replete with sparkling dialogue and high drama, the adventures of the real-life Bond and Moneypenny was a delicious treat from start to finish." — Kerri Maher, author of The Paris Bookseller

"Fans of James Bond will definitely want to check out this novel. Readers of Ben MacIntyre’s Operation Mincemeat may also enjoy Wells’s take on this. This title features the usual cast, but due to its telling from the viewpoints of two charismatic women, it offers a fresh women-centric perspective not always found hand in hand with military themes." — Library Journal

Ask a Question About this Product More...
 
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling One Woman's War: A Novel of the Real Miss Moneypenny on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top