The Invocations
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A gripping fantasy killer thriller from the acclaimed Krystal Sutherland. For fans of Leigh Bardugo's Ninth House, Naomi Alderman's The Power and everything by V. E. Schwab.

About the Author

Krystal Sutherland is the New York Times and indie bestselling author of House of Hollow, A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares and Our Chemical Hearts, which was adapted into a film by Amazon Studios. Her books have been published in more than twenty countries and nominated for the Carnegie Medal and YA Book Prize, among others. Originally from Australia, she has lived on four continents and currently calls London home.

Reviews

A gorgeously twisted modern fairy tale that shimmers with magic and mystery. The Invocations is thrilling, irresistible, and unforgettable.
*Karen McManus, bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying*

Stepping nimbly among the liminal spaces and eerie real-world haunts of our heroine's cipher-sister, this haunting modern fairy tale will wrap you up like a glittering fog, before going for your throat. - Praise for House of Hollow
*Melissa Albert*

This dark, deliciously twisted novel has everything you could hope for as a reader - a brilliant concept, glamorous characters with secrets to hide, immersive world building, and some of the finest writing I've seen in YA fiction. I'll put it like this - I am obsessed with the House of Hollow. - Praise for House of Hollow
*Louise O'Neill*

Dark and delicious, HOUSE OF HOLLOW hums with malice and mystery. I devoured it whole. - Praise for House of Hollow
*Kiran Milwood Hargrave*

In House of Hollow, Krystal Sutherland turns her razor-sharp imagination to new horizons and proves, once again, that words blossom at her command. This story will steal up your spine, slip beneath your skin, and stick to you like honey. - Praise for House of Hollow
*Samantha Shannon*

Utterly gripping, deliciously strange and haunting. - Praise for House of Hollow
*Katherine Rundell*

Alive with lush language and a dark fairy tale feel, this is a compelling read alike for lovers of Holly Black's many wonderful fair folk standalones and series - Praise for House of Hollow
*School Library Journal*

Iris' smart and assured narration easily carries a fast-paced story entwining themes of grief and loss with elements of folklore and some very inventive body horror. The pervasive feeling of dread builds to a shocking twist. A lush and darkly twisted modern fairy tale. - Praise for House of Hollow
*Kirkus*

Sutherland's Invocations has been one of my favourite reads of the year. This story is exceptionally crafted. Equal parts visceral and haunting, its twists and turns will lure readers in, and its compulsive plot will keep them engrossed until the end.
*Ayana Gray, New York Times-bestselling author of Beasts of Prey trilogy*

With a pulse-pounding mystery at its core and three angry, brilliant young women as its lead, this witchy fantasy thriller is a must-read - darkly funny, twisty and brilliantly original, it grips you all the way through to its intricately plotted climax.
*Ravena Guron, author of This Book Kills*

Fans will adore the twisty, heartstopping plot, and how a group of determined teenage girls bring down evil patriarchal structures.
*The Bookseller*

It is the perfect combination of dark and thrilling.
*Armadillo*

This mythological novel blends advocating for women to take back their power, including the gentle side of a dash of queer romance, with genres such as horror, thriller, mystery, fantasy, science fiction and the supernatural. The Invocations will have you anticipating the next page, unsure of where this tale may lead. It keeps readers on the edge of their seats with compelling leads combined with unexpected twist plots. This is a book that truly can't be put down until its finished. Sutherland has truly captivated readers with this novel just as she has done previously with novels such as House of Hollow.
*Reading Zone*

This furious, seductive 14+ horror-fantasy will appeal to fans of Holly Black and Melissa Albert.
*The Guardian*

The Invocations is a pitch-black, pitch-perfect fantasy for those looking for their next fix of a grisly, gloriously feminist tale of reclaiming power and finding ones kin, a tale that is sure to put a spell on each and every reader...
*Set the Tape*

Sutherland's book begins as an eerie serial killer thriller with a heavy dose of supernatural chills, but it evolves into the collective battle cry of persecuted women. The end result is a witchy story that's at once powerful, lyrical and genuinely scary.
*Culturefly*

Ask a Question About this Product More...
 
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling The Invocations on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.

Back to top