COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Charlie Changes Into a Chicken
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The first in a sidesplitting new series about a boy who keeps changing into animals. Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Kid Normal.

About the Author

Sam Copeland is from Manchester and now lives in London with two smelly cats, three smelly children and one relatively clean-smelling wife. He works as a chicken whisperer, travelling the world using his unique gift to tame wild chickens. Charlie Changes Into a Chicken is his first book. He has threatened to write more.

Reviews

The best kind of silly * Observer *
Cleverly daft storytelling at its very, very best * Maz Evans, author of Who Let The Gods Out? *
Hysterically funny! * Jeremy Strong, author of My Brother's Famous Bottom *
Full of heart and humour, wit and wisdom, and rivers of rhino poo * Sophie Anderson, author of The House With Chicken Legs *
Wonderfully heart-warming and absolutely hilarious * Cat Doyle, author of The Storm Keeper's Island *
Laugh out loud funny, with an important underlying message on how to cope with anxiety * Abie Longstaff, author of How To Catch a Witch *
Fresh and funny - this reads like a modern-day Dahl * Christopher Edge, author of The Many Worlds of Albie Bright *
In the words of Jean-Claude the pigeon, I am in love with this most delicious, beautiful and delectable book and I wish to fly away with it! * Laura Ellen Anderson, author of Amelia Fang and Witch Wars *
Brilliant, laugh-out-loud funny and genuinely moving * M.G. Leonard, author of Beetle Boy *
So good you'll CLUCK with laughter! * Pamela Butchart, author of Baby Aliens Got My Teacher *
I laughed out loud at the part about yin and yang and win and wang. Oh, and the rhino poo - giant poo will never not be funny. * Lara Williamson, author of A Boy Called Hope and The Boy Who Sailed the Ocean *
One of the most hyped children's debut of the decade.. Here is the modern masterpiece: a book that is full of laughs, while also exploring childhood anxiety.. This is a touching and engaging story. This savvy, comic tale ticks every box. * The Daily Telegraph *
This really is one of the funniest, freshest debuts I've read in a long time. Delightfully silly and utterly heartfelt.. Comedy is hard to do right, but Copeland's enviable timing and knack for properly laugh-out-loud jokes set this apart. Charlie's experiences in animal form are comedy gold... it is just genius. A real delight and deserves to be huge. * The Bookseller *
An adventure of fantastical proportions.. a comic novel which fans of Kid Normal will flock to * The Irish Times *
This is a book that isn't what you expect, cleverly portraying ways of dealing with stress and anxiety..This is a brilliant and positive debut from Sam Copeland * Booktrust *
Very funny indeed. * Robin Stevens, author of the Murder Most Unladylike Series *
Charlie Changes Into a Chicken is a gloriously fun, madcap adventure with a celebration of friendship at its heart. * Anna James, author of Pages & Co: Tilly and the Book Wanderers *
A clever and hilarious story with a hero you'll love... I'm already looking forward to the next one * Parents In Touch *
A brilliant debut . . . laugh-out-loud funny * The Mail on Sunday *
Gloriously silly, gleefully naughty and totally entertaining * Michelle Harrison, author of A Pinch of Magic *
For readers of about seven-plus, Sam Copeland's debut Charlie Changes Into a Chicken (Puffin) is a stand-out star, offering belly-busting hilarity and a loving, light touch take on childhood anxiety . . . A supportive cast of friends (fiendishly clever Flora in particular), subtly planted strategies for coping with worry, and some joyfully silly metanarrative tricks (including a publisher's letter of apology) place Charlie head and shoulders above the competition; Sarah Horne's wild-haired, twitch-eyed illustrations add another layer to the fun. * The Guardian *
An essential talent, full of the best of Roald Dahl and David Walliams * Elle (France) *
Fantastically ridiculous and silly in equal measures . . . will have readers snorting with giggles * The Northern Echo *
"One of the most hyped children's debut of the decade.. Here is the modern masterpiece: a book that is full of laughs, while also exploring childhood anxiety.. This is a touching and engaging story. This savvy, comic tale ticks every box." * The Daily Telegraph, Books of the Year *
"A stand-out star, offering belly-busting hilarity.. Head and shoulders above the competition." * The Guardian, Children's Books of the Month *
"A brilliant debut... a book that is not only laugh-out-loud funny but offers important advice about coping with anxiety." * The Mail on Sunday, Children's Books of the Month *
"The best kind of silly." * The Observer, Children's Books of the Month *
"An essential talent, full of the best of Roald Dahl" * Elle *
"This is one of the best children's tales we've come across in years... hilariously funny but with proper heart.. providing laughter on every page, it's a sure-fire debut hit." * Waterstones, Book of the Month *
"This really is one of the funniest, freshest debuts I've read in a long time. Delightfully silly and utterly heartfelt.. Comedy is hard to do right, but Copeland's enviable timing and knack for properly laugh-out-loud jokes set this apart. Charlie's experiences in animal form are comedy gold... it is just genius. A real delight and deserves to be huge." * The Bookseller, Books of the Month *
"An adventure of fantastical proportions.. a comic novel which fans of Kid Normal will flock to" * The Irish Times *
"A great example of a kids' book with lots of humour." * The Sun *
"Sam Copeland's debut is brilliant, laugh-out-loud funny and genuinely moving. However, Charlie Changes into a Chicken is not just a joyous read, through its relentlessly hilarious narrative it ingeniously communicates an important message for children who struggle with anxiety or are confronted by difficulties in their life. A great debut is one that you feel must have always existed, and this is one of those books. Every school library needs to have multiple copies and may I recommend it to every single parent out there." * MG Leonard, author of Beetle Boy *
"Fresh and funny - this reads like a modern-day Dahl." * Christopher Edge, author of The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day *
"This is a book that isn't what you expect, cleverly portraying ways of dealing with stress and anxiety..This is a brilliant and positive debut from Sam Copeland" * Booktrust *
"This is a glorious debut from an exciting new voice in children's comedy fiction. Sam Copeland WILL turn into a megastar on the strength of this first outing. Cleverly daft storytelling at its very, very best." * Maz Evans, author of Who Let The Gods Out *
'Very funny indeed.' * Robin Stevens, author of A Murder Most Unladylike series *
"Wonderfully heart-warming and absolutely hilarious." * Catherine Doyle, author of The Storm Keeper's Island *
So good you'll CLUCK with laughter * Pamela Butchart *
"Gloriously silly, gleefully naughty, totally entertaining. So good, in fact, that I HAD to finish it once my son was asleep!" * Michelle Harrison, author of A Pinch of Magic *
"Charlie Changes Into a Chicken is a gloriously fun, madcap adventure with a celebration of friendship at its heart." * Anna James, author of Pages & Co: Tilly and the Book Wanderers *
"Hysterically funny!" * Jeremy Strong *
Full of heart and humour, wit and wisdom, and rivers of rhino poo * Sophie Anderson, author of The House With Chicken Legs *
"A heart-warming story that has led to comparisons with such celebrated authors as David Walliams and David Solomons. But this is no ordinary children's story. ... (it) doesn't just entertain his readers but can actually help them to deal with their anxieties." * The Irish Examiner *
"In the words of Jean-Claude the pigeon... I am in love with this most delicious, beautiful and delectable book and I wish to fly away with it!" * Laura Ellen Anderson, author of the Amelia Fang series *
"A clever and hilarious story with a hero you'll love... I'm already looking forward to the next one" * Parents In Touch *
"Laugh-out-loud funny, with an important underlying message on how to cope with anxiety." * Abie Longstaff *
"A side-splitting debut... fantastically ridiculous... will have readers snorting with giggles." * Press Association *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Charlie Changes Into a Chicken (Charlie Changes Into a Chicken) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top