Australasia's Biggest Online Store

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Written in Chalk [Digipak] *

Album: Written in Chalk [Digipak] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Ellis County
2)    Gasoline and Matches
3)    Don't Say Goodbye - (featuring Patty Griffin)
4)    What You Gonna Do Leroy - (featuring Robert Plant)
5)    Long Time
6)    One Part, Two Part - (featuring Regina McCrary)
7)    Chalk - (featuring Patty Griffin)
8)    Everytime We Say Goodbye
9)    Hush, Sorrow - (featuring Regina McCrary)
10)    Memphis Jane
11)    June
12)    Selfishness in Man, The - (featuring Emmylou Harris)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Buddy Miller (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Emmylou Harris, Julie Miller, Patty Griffin, Ann McCrary, Regina McCrary (vocals, background vocals); Robert Plant (vocals); Russ Pahl (steel guitar); Gurf Morlix (lap steel guitar); Larry Campbell (mandolin, violin, fiddle); Stuart Duncan (fiddle); Kami Lyle (trumpet); John Deaderick (piano, keyboards); Matt Rollings (piano); Rev. Brady Blade, Bryan Owings, Jay Bellerose (drums).
  • Liner Note Author: Grant Alden.
  • Recording information: Dogtown Studio, Nashville, TN (2008); The Molson Amphitheater, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (2008).
  • The fourth official duo album by Nashville singer-songwriters Buddy and Julie Miller (although each always appears on the other's nominally solo albums as well), WRITTEN IN CHALK is as pleasantly evanescent as its title. Like Robert Plant and Alison Krauss's RAISING SAND as re-interpreted by the Band circa MUSIC FROM BIG PINK, there is an off the cuff, loosey-goosey feel to these songs that only serves to improve them. Plant makes a guest vocal appearance on the sly shuffle "Whatcha Gonna Do, Leroy," and Emmylou Harris sings a haunting duet with Julie Miller on "The Selfishness Of Man."
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.77) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he real star is Buddy, who brings a poet's knack for fresh imagery to songs of spiritual thirst and romantic strife."

Spin (p.80) - "WRITTEN IN CHALK sounds like a breakup record, with the Millers picking through an emotional boneyard of broken promises, shattered hearts, and spiritual uncertainty."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.109) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Julie wrote most of the songs, most are country ballads -- sentimental, heartfelt and tend towards the sacred."

Paste (magazine) (p.58) - "There's a soul-clasped gut intuition to the way their voices dance about one another that just breaks your heart."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Written in Chalk [Digipak] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top