Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Working Man's Cafe [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak] *

Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: Working Man's Cafe [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Vietnam Cowboys
2)    You're Asking Me
3)    Working Man's Cafe
4)    Morphine Song
5)    In a Moment
6)    Peace in Our Time
7)    No One Listen
8)    Imaginary Man
9)    One More Time
10)    Voodoo Walk, The
11)    Hymn For a New Age
12)    Real World, The
13)    Angola (Wrong Side of the Law) - (Bonus Track)
14)    I, The Victim
15)    Vietnam Cowboys - (Bonus Track Demo)
16)    Voodoo Walk, The - (Bonus Track Demo)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Ray Davies (vocals, acoustic guitar, keyboards, background vocals); Pat Buchanan (guitars); Craig Young (bass guitar); Shannon Otis Forrest (drums); Karin Forsman (background vocals); Ray Kennedy.
  • The Kinks stopped being a working band in 1996, but it still took frontman Ray Davies another decade to release his first proper solo album. The follow-up, WORKING MAN'S CAFE, came along a relatively speedy two years later. Those who are familiar with latter-day Kinks recordings will recognize a sonic thread here, but while there are some moments that lean toward harder-edged rock, WORKING MAN'S CAFE is ultimately a singer-songwriter album, with the highly melodic, elegantly crafted tunes serving the intentions of Davies's lyrics.
  • As has been the case since the '60s, Davies focuses his attention on sociopolitical themes, delving into both the political and sociological aspects of modern life. He alternately laments one man's inability to affect global politics ("Listen to Me") and rails eloquently against the misdirection of international economic practices ("Vietnam Cowboys"). Of course, this being the man who wrote "Waterloo Sunset" and "Days," those concerns are couched in musical frameworks so appealing that they taste like candy going down.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.70) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "[H]e turns out loose melodies amid nimble bar-band grooves..."

Entertainment Weekly (p.97) - "[With] a cache of Kinks-worthy melodies...[including] the gorgeous 'The Real World,' and 'You're Asking Me,' which could almost be a lost tune from the late '60s."

Blender (Magazine) (p.97) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "When it comes to writing beautiful, wistfully nostalgic tunes, no one can top former Kinks frontman Ray Davies."

Harp (magazine) (p.93) - "WORKING MAN'S CAFE is sharper and more direct, a reaching back to Davies' most biting social commentary and the pointed wit of prime Kinks days."

Paste (magazine) (p.71) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Electric guitars crank for 'Peace In Our Time' and arpeggiate for 'Imaginary Man.' Horns add punch to 'Morphine Song.'"
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Working Man's Cafe [Deluxe Edition] [Digipak] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top