SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Wisdom, Laughter and Lines

Album: Wisdom, Laughter and Lines
# Song Title   Time
1)    (Man Is) The Biggest Bitch of All
2)    Austerity of Love, The
3)    I Don't See Them
4)    Heatongrad
5)    Sundial in the Shade
6)    Lonesome and Sad Millionaire
7)    Queen of Soho, The
8)    Horse and Groom, The
9)    When Love for Woman Stops
10)    No One Wants to Stay
11)    Wives 1, 2 & 3
12)    You, the Mountain and Me
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Jonny Lexus (vocals, guitar); Pete Marshall (vocals, mandolin, violin, drums); Chris Wise (vocals, bass guitar); John Purton, Natalie Stephan (violin); Kay Stephen (viola); Elizabeth Hanks (cello); Stephen Large (accordion, piano, keyboards); Yvonne Shelton, Colin Williams , Ella Bridge, Mica Townshend (hand claps, background vocals); Gary Hammond (percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: James Mottershead.
  • Recording information: Blueprint Studios, Salford.
  • After the critical and commercial success of 2014's What Have We Become?, which catapulted to number three on the U.K. albums chart for the artists' biggest hit since their Beautiful South days, Paul Heaton and the previously retired (from music) Jacqui Abbott rejoin a year later for the equally satisfying Wisdom, Laughter and Lines. Songwriter Heaton's comprehensive knowledge of and enthusiasm for pop music is on full display again, with songs that hit on Motown, reggae, honky tonk, post-punk, and Eastern European folk, among other styles. Also returning are the songwriter's acerbic wordcraft and talent for ear-catching melodies. The opener, "(Man Is) The Biggest Bitch of All," shows off all of these as a jaunty, '70s Motown-like tune that has Abbott responding to an offer with "Come away with who?...The man who promised that he'd love me 'til the very end/Or the one I caught in family bed.wearing my best friend." "The Austerity of Love" ("the propensity, the depravity, the austerity...") delivers its message via bright reggae, and Heaton does his best Morrissey impression on the consummate "The Horse and Groom" ("This arthritic pain in the pouring rain/Whilst inside on the jukebox Tammy sings again"). Heaton also takes on social issues, per usual, as in the mocking "Lonesome and Sad Millionaire" and the anti-monarchy (among other establishments) "Heatongrad." Songwriting aside, there are also the legendary voices, which go great together now as ever on an album recommended for all who can embrace biting (and very often funny) lyrics and the lovingly nostalgic trip through musical styles. ~ Marcy Donelson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Wisdom, Laughter and Lines on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top