Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Will The Circle Be Unbroken Volume 3

Album: Will The Circle Be Unbroken Volume 3
# Song Title   Time
1)    Take Me in Your Lifeboat - (featuring Del McCoury/Rob McCoury/Ronnie McCoury)
2)    Milk Cow Blues - (featuring Doc Watson/Richard Watson/Josh Graves)
3)    I Find Jesus
4)    Hold Whatcha Got - (featuring Jimmy Martin)
5)    Mama's Opry - (featuring Iris DeMent)
6)    Diamonds in the Rough - (featuring June Carter Cash/Earl Scruggs)
7)    Lonesome River - (featuring Sam Bush)
8)    Some Dark Holler - (featuring Dwight Yoakam)
9)    Lowlands, The - (featuring Jaime Hanna/Jonathan McEuen)
10)    Love, Please Come Home - (featuring Del McCoury/Ronnie McCoury)
11)    Goodnight Irene - (featuring Willie Nelson/Tom Petty)
12)    I Know What It Means to Be Lonesome - (featuring The Nashville Bluegrass Band)
13)    I'll Be Faithful to You - (featuring Emmylou Harris)
14)    Tears in the Holston River - (featuring Johnny Cash)
1)    Fishin' Blues - (featuring Taj Mahal/Vassar Clements)
2)    Save It, Save It - (featuring Jimmy Martin)
3)    Wheels - (featuring Dwight Yoakam)
4)    Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms - (featuring Willie Nelson)
5)    Oh Cumberland - (featuring Matraca Berg/Emmylou Harris)
6)    I Am a Pilgrim - (featuring Doc Watson/Richard Watson)
7)    Sallie Ann - (TRUE instrumental, featuring Earl Scruggs)
8)    Catfish John - (featuring Alison Krauss)
9)    Roll the Stone Away
10)    All Prayed Up - (featuring Vince Gill)
11)    Return to Dismal Swamp, Pt. 2 - (TRUE instrumental, featuring Jerry Douglas/Glen Duncan/Ronnie McCoury/Tony Rice)
12)    There Is a Time - (featuring Rodney Dillard/Ricky Skaggs)
13)    Will the Circle Be Unbroken - (featuring Taj Mahal/Alison Krauss/Doc Watson)
14)    Farther Along - (TRUE instrumental, featuring Randy Scruggs)
Product Details


1. Take Me In Your Lifeboat

2. Milk Cow Blues

3. I Find Jesus

4. Hold Whatcha Got

5. Mama's Opry

6. Diamonds In The Rough

7. Lonesome River

8. Some Dark Holler

9. The Lowlands

10. Love, Please Come Home

11. Goodnight Irene

12. I Know What It Means To Be Lonesome

13. I'll Be Faithful To You

14. Tears In The Holston River

15. Fishin' Blues

16. Save It, Save It

17. Wheels

18. Roll In My Sweet Baby's Arms

19. Oh Cumberland

20. I Am A Pilgrim

21. Sallie Ann

22. Catfish John

23. Roll The Stone Away

24. All Prayed Up

25. Return To Dismal Swamp II (Instrumental)

26. There Is A Time

27. Will The Circle Be Unbroken? (Glory, Glory)

28. Farther Along (Instrumental)

Performer Notes
  • Disc 2 is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
  • Nitty Gritty Dirt Band: Jimmy Ibbotson (vocals, guitar, bouzouki, mandolin, snare, drum box, percussion box); Jeff Hanna (vocals, guitar, National guitar); Bob Carpenter (vocals, accordion); John McEuen (banjo, mandolin); Jimmie Fadden (harmonica).
  • Additional personnel includes: Del McCoury, Doc Watson, Jimmy Martin, Iris Dement, Dwight Yoakam, Jaime Hanna, Willie Nelson, Tom Petty, Emmylou Harris, Johnny Cash, Jimmy Martin, Matraca Berg, Vince Gill (vocals, guitar); Taj Mahal (vocals, Archtop guitar); Sam Bush, Ricky Scaggs (vocals, mandolin); June Carter Cash (vocals, autoharp); Alison Krauss (vocals, fiddle); Richard Watson, Earl Scruggs, Randy Scruggs; Tony Rice (guitar); Josh Graves, Jerry Douglas (dobro); Vassar Clements (fiddle); Dan Dugmore (dobro); Ray Martin (mandolin, background vocals); Ronnie McCoury (mandolin); Glen Duncan (fiddle); Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Byron House, David Jackson, Glen Worf (upright bass); The Nashville Bluegrass Band.
  • Producers: Randy Scruggs, Nitty Gritty Dirt Band.
  • Recorded at Scruggs Sound Studio, Nashville, Tennessee. Includes liner notes by Jack Hurst.
  • "Roll The Stone Away" was nominated for the 2003 Grammy Award for Best Country Performance By A Duo Or Group With Vocal. "Will The Circle Be Unbroken (Glory, Glory)" was nominated for the 2003 Grammy Award for Best Country Collaboration With Vocals.
  • Personnel: Jeff Hanna (vocals, guitar, National guitar, mandolin, accordion, washboard); Jimmy Ibbotson (vocals, guitar, bouzouki, mandolin, snare drum, percussion, drum programming); Del McCoury, Doc Watson, Dwight Yoakam, Emmylou Harris, Iris DeMent, Jaime Hanna, Jimmy Martin , Johnny Cash, Jonathan McEuen, Matraca Berg, Rodney Dillard, Tom Petty, Vince Gill, Willie Nelson, Pat Enright (vocals, guitar); Taj Mahal (vocals, acoustic guitar); Ricky Skaggs, Sam Bush (vocals, mandolin); Alison Krauss (vocals, fiddle); Bob Carpenter (vocals, accordion); June Carter Cash (vocals); Earl Scruggs, Randy Scruggs (guitar, banjo); Richard Watson, Tony Rice (guitar); Dan Dugmore, Jerry Douglas , Josh Graves (dobro); John McEuen (banjo, mandolin); Alan O'Bryant, Rob McCoury (banjo); Mike Compton, Ray Martin, Ronnie McCoury (mandolin); Glen Duncan , Stuart Duncan, Vassar Clements (fiddle); Jimmie Fadden (harmonica, snare drum, drum programming); Mickey Raphael (harmonica); Glenn Worf, Kevin Grant, Barry Bales, Byron House, Dennis Crouch, David P. Jackson (upright bass).
  • Audio Mixer: Ron Reynolds.
  • Recording information: SCruggs Sound Studio, Nashville, TN.
  • Photographers: Katherine Bomboy; Mike McNamara.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Jimmy Ibbotson.
  • Arranger: Randy Scruggs.
  • In 1972, California folk-rockers the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band recorded what today might be regarded as the precursor to the jillion-selling pop-bluegrass crossover phenomenon that was the 2000 soundtrack to O BROTHER WHERE ART THOU. They gathered together with some of America's finest (and oldest) bluegrass, folk, and country musicians for a generational summit/musical history lesson that reached both the country and pop audiences. In 1989, the Dirt band released a well-regarded, similarly constructed second volume, and on the 30th anniversary of Volume One, they have an entirely successful third go at it.
  • The fare on offer is stictly old-timey, as one would expect/hope; even if only a handful of the tunes are strictly traditional, most go back to the glory days of American roots music. Seasoned bluegrass veterans like Doc Watson and Jimmy Martin are on hand to mix up with the Dirt Band as well as more contemporary (but equally tradition-minded) country artists such as Dwight Yoakam, Alison Krauss, and Jerry Douglas. As with the previous volumes, the spontaneous, rough-and-ready production gives an appropriately authentic, back-porch feel to the impressive and generous (28 songs) compendium of great American roots music on offer here.
Professional Reviews
Mojo (Publisher) (1/03, p.93) - "...[With] so many good moments..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Will The Circle Be Unbroken Volume 3 on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top