SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Wave of Mutilation [Parental Advisory]

Album: Wave of Mutilation: The Best of Pixies
# Song Title   Time
1)    Bone Machine
2)    Nimrod's Son
3)    Holiday Song
4)    Caribou
5)    Broken Face
6)    Gigantic - (single version)
7)    Vamos - (Surfer Rosa version)
8)    Hey
9)    Monkey Gone to Heaven
10)    Debaser - (Doolittle version)
11)    Gouge Away
12)    Wave of Mutilation
13)    Here Comes Your Man
14)    Tame
15)    Where Is My Mind?
16)    Into the White
17)    Velouria
18)    Allison
19)    Dig for Fire
20)    U-Mass
21)    Alec Eiffel
22)    Planet of Sound
23)    Winterlong
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Pixies: Black Francis (vocals, guitar); Kim Deal (vocals, bass); Joey Santiago (guitar); David Lovering (drums).
  • Additional personnel includes: Eric Drew Feldman (keyboards, synthesizer).
  • Producers: Gary Smith, Steve Albini, Gil Norton, Pixies.
  • Recorded between 1987 & 1991.
  • Personnel: Kim Deal, Black Francis (vocals); Joey Santiago (guitar); Karen Karlsrud, Corine Metter (violin); Arthur Fiacco, Ann Rorich (cello); Eric Drew Feldman (keyboards, synthesizer); David Lovering (drums).
  • Recording information: 2 Division, Boston, MA; Blackwing, London, England; Downtown Recorders, Boston, MA; Fort Apache, Roxbury, MA; Master Control, Burbank, CA.
  • Photographer: Andrew Catlin.
  • One of the most revered college-radio bands of the late 1980s and early '90s, Pixies combined smart yet surreal pop with jagged, punk-influenced rock and, oddly enough, broke up just as the alternative music scene went mainstream. Fueled by Black Francis's oft-maniacal vocals and bizarrely catchy songs, the Boston-based quartet--rounded out by bassist/vocalist Kim Deal, guitarist Joey Santiago, and drummer David Lovering--consistently crafted fascinating albums during their brief but headstrong run. This 23-track collection, released in tandem with their highly anticipated 2004 reunion tour, captures many of their finest moments.
  • Proceeding semi-chronologically, WAVE OF MUTILATION begins with the rambunctious ditty "Bone Machine." Other early gems include the strange anthem "Holiday Song," the anthropomorphic ode "Caribou," and Deal's signature song, "Gigantic." The band's beloved 1989 album, DOOLITTLE, is amply represented by seven songs, including the pleading "Hey," the mischievous "Monkey Gone to Heaven," the fierce "Debaser," and the pop-perfect "Here Comes Your Man." Latter-day tunes include rockers such as "Dig for Fire," "Alec Eiffel," and "Planet of Sound," along with two B-sides, "Into the White" and an excellent cover of Neil Young's "Winterlong." If you're looking for the Pixies motherlode, this is it.
Professional Reviews
Spin (p.106) - "[T]here is a career-spanning clutch of songs that you want - need - to play over and over again....All are here, on one handy disc..."

Q (p.112) - 5 stars out of 5 - "Their records offer mischief and surrealism and bursts of sexed-up joie de vivre....They were simultaneously crazy and compassionate."

Uncut (p.102) - 5 stars out of 5 - "[T]hese ripples on the surface of silence are strictly beautiful...the tracks are framed by theory rather than antic wit."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Wave of Mutilation: The Best of Pixies on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top