Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Voyage of the Acolyte [Remaster]

Album: Voyage of the Acolyte [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Ace of Wands
2)    Hands of the Priestess, Pt. 1
3)    Tower Struck Down, A
4)    Hands of the Priestess, Pt. 2
5)    Hermit, The
6)    Star of Sirius
7)    Lovers, The
8)    Shadow of the Hierophant
9)    Ace of Wands - (live, Bonus Track)
10)    Shadow of the Hierophant - (Bonus Track, Extended Playout Version)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Steve Hackett (vocals, guitar, Mellotron, harmonium, bells, autoharp); Phil Collins (vocals, drums, vibraphone, percussion); Nigel Warren-Green (cello); John Hackett (flute, ARP synthesizer, bells); Robin Miller (oboe, cor anglais); John Acock (Mellotron, harmonium, piano); Mike Rutherford (bass, bass pedals).
  • Additional personnel: Sally Oldfield (vocals); Percy Jones, John Gustafson (bass).
  • Recorded June-July 1975.
  • Personnel: Steve Hackett (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, autoharp, harmonium, Mellotron, bells); Sally Oldfield (vocals); John Hackett (flute, synthesizer, bells); Robin Miller (oboe); Phil Collins (vocals, vibraphone, drums, percussion); Mike Rutherford (bass guitar); Phil Ehart, Richie Havens, Steve Walsh.
  • Recording information: Kingsway Recorders (06/1975-07/1975); The Teatre Royal, Drury Lane (06/1975-07/1975).
  • Photographer: Barry Plummer.
  • The essence of progressive music is characterized perfectly on Voyage of the Acolyte, Steve Hackett's first solo album. The former Genesis guitarist uses his instrumental mastery to conjure up musical images of sorcerers, magic, and old English castles with the primary use of keyboards and electric guitar. Phil Collins on drums and vibraphone and Mike Rutherford on bass and fuzz 12-string contribute their talents to the churning synthesizers that accompany each passage. The basic instrumental elements of progressive rock are heard loud and clear throughout the album, including Mellotron, harmonium, flute, and bells, and none with a minor role to play. Collins, Hackett, and Sally Oldfield all donate their voices to a few of the songs here, adding a nice touch to the heavy insertion of electronics. Glimpses of oboe and cello can be detected underneath some pleasurable guitar work in "The Lovers and "Hands of the Priestess Part 1." Traces of Yes can be found all the way through the album, but especially on the 11:45 grand finale "Shadow of the Hierophant" that combines all the instruments in a colorful bombardment of musical fury. A true progressive masterpiece, Voyage of the Acolyte is an album firmly stationed in the upper echelon of prog rock. ~ Mike DeGagne
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Voyage of the Acolyte [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top