SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Vow [Digipak] *

Album: Vow [Digipak] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Silent Call
2)    Vow
3)    In and Thru
4)    Pardoned Pleasure
5)    Laid to Rest
6)    Brightest Sight
7)    On the Hour
8)    Skyscraper
9)    Midnight Glow
10)    Beyond
11)    Adagio
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Ryan Lee Lugar (vocals, guitar); John Preston Bundy (vocals, piano); John Weingarten (piano, organ, synthesizer, background vocals); Eli Pizzuto (percussion, background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Jeff Berner.
  • Recording information: Galuminum Foil Studios (01/2013-02/2013).
  • Brooklyn psychedelic warriors Naam meld the unpredictability of a bad mushroom trip with total control of musical mastery on their second album, Vow. Their take on what they label "modern psychedelia" is a dark, sometimes gruesome one, but one so studied and deliberate that, even at its most wild and raging, the band has every element of its songs reined in perfectly. Dipping toes in biker rock, elements of prog, and even a more groove-heavy version of drone and shoegaze, the tracks on Vow melt into each other organically for the most part. The title track that begins the album falls somewhere between Black Sabbath's moments of lurching funk and the strung-out repetition of Spacemen 3. For a lot of heavier bands, it's a fine line between Black Sabbath and Monster Magnet, and Naam always stay on the more purposeful, less cartoonish Sabbath side of things, keeping things evil with heavy bashing rockers like "Midnight Glow" and getting into the ominous spectral trippiness of something like "Planet Caravan" on the mellower but equally terror-filled "Skyscraper." The group isn't strictly influenced by early metal, though. Traces of atmospheric soundtrack work come through on the slowed-down drums and subliminal voices of interlude "In and Thru," evoking the work of Goblin on Dario Argento's classic horror soundtracks. Vocalist Ryan Lee Lugar has the same blown-out rasp in his voice as Mudhoney's Mark Arm, injecting just a touch of grunge into the fuzzy guitars and bitter organ wailing. Not surprising from a band that once released a 7" of Nirvana covers. Between the doomy moods and powerful riffing, Naam carve out a sound that stands apart from any number of their lazier psych rock contemporaries, with just the right combination of spaced out and sharply focused. ~ Fred Thomas
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Vow [Digipak] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top