Australasia's Biggest Online Store

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Voices *

Album: Voices *
# Song Title   Time
1)    Blockhead Fuck Off
2)    Hollow Roots
3)    Exit Fear
4)    God's in His Heaven
5)    Oblivious Mess
6)    Descending Into the Unknown
7)    Dead Wrong
8)    Fallen into Disuse
9)    1st World Syndrome, The
10)    Shallow Standards
11)    Fake Moral Machine
12)    Forced Siege
13)    Take Aim
14)    Still Irrelevant
15)    Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Grind
16)    Compassion Is Dead
17)    Buried the Sun
18)    Defaced
19)    Face Of Disgrace, The
20)    Outworn
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • This third album from Singapore grind merchants Wormrot is their most fully realized to date. Returning after a three-year hiatus with a new drummer, the band sound reinvigorated; they've taken a huge leap forward in terms of songwriting, and the production is second to none, bringing a hitherto unheard thickness and density to the sound that makes it hard to believe there's no bass player -- while at the same time remaining assiduously unpolished. New drummer Vijesh Ghariwala is an absolute beast, bringing a renewed fire to the band's belly with his brutal tub-thumping and inhumanly fast blastbeats. This time out, the band have also subtly incorporated influences from other metal genres to add a new dimension to their sound, such as the stunning guitar harmonies which give tracks like "Compassion Is Dead" an almost Gothenburg-like feel. Toward the end of the album, they also experiment with slower tempos on some tracks; if not for the harsh vocals, "Buried the Sun" could almost be mid-period Judas Priest before it slows to a doomy, sludgy crawl at the end. For all the new ideas, the band never forget to keep it real, bringing the old-school punk flavor with "Fake Moral Machine" and "Take Aim," while displaying a kooky sense of humor with the peerlessly titled "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Grind." There are also a couple of obligatory "microsongs" (a staple of the genre) in the eight-second-long "Dead Wrong" and the blink-and-you'll-miss-it "Still Irrelevant." Finally, the band add another string to their bow with the stunningly atmospheric, slowed-down closer "Outworn," whose cinematic scope, sludgy riffing, and complex harmonies bring to mind post-metal acts like Devil Sold His Soul and Buried Inside. This album is the perfect melding of old-school crusty grind with subtle progressive influences and top-quality contemporary production. Easily one of the year's best metal albums, it sees Wormrot standing tall with the biggest names in grind. ~ John D. Buchanan
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Voices * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top