SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Vintage Violence [Bonus Tracks]

Album: Vintage Violence [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Hello, There
2)    Gideon's Bible
3)    Adelaide
4)    Big White Cloud
5)    Cleo
6)    Please
7)    Charlemagne
8)    Bring It on Up
9)    Amsterdam
10)    Ghost Story
11)    Fairweather Friend
12)    Fairweather Friend - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
13)    Wall - (previously unreleased, alternate take)
Product Details


1. Hello, There

2. Gideon's Bible

3. Adelaide

4. Big White Cloud

5. Cleo

6. Please

7. Charlemagne

8. Bring It On

9. Amsterdam

10. Ghost Story

11. Fairweather Friend

12. Fairweather Friend (Previously Unreleased Alternate Version)

13. Wall (Previously Unreleased)

Performer Notes
  • Producers: John Cale, Lewis Merenstein.
  • Reissue producer: Bruce Dickinson.
  • Recorded in 1969. Includes liner notes by John Cale.
  • All tracks have been digitally remastered.
  • Liner Note Authors: Garland Jeffreys; John Cale.
  • Recording information: 1969.
  • Arranger: John Cale.
  • Considering the darker surface of his former band, the Velvet Underground, John Cale's first solo album at first seems downright sunny. But, as with all of Cale's work, there are contrasts and tensions throughout. Even the album's title seems incongruous when weighed against the pop music contained within. The lyrics offer memorable phrases, but also poke around into dark corners with surreal giddiness. Where the Velvet Underground had an urban grittiness to its music, VINTAGE VIOLENCE sounds positively rural. There's an easy front porch playfulness to the songs, but it's also clear that a significant amount of effort went into their composition.
  • This is idiosyncratic but highly engaging folk-rock, and is unlike anything else John Cale has ever made. Though the songs are flavored by instrumentation unique to his catalog, each song bears the inimitable Cale stamp. VINTAGE VIOLENCE is replete with steel guitar and harmonica, as well as Cale's strident classically based piano playing his Welsh-inflected singing.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (3/16/01, p.69) - "...VIOLENCE's placid compositions are all velvet, no underground....An elegant collection of stately songcraft....for later-Cale converts it's a must." - Rating: A-

Alternative Press (3/01, p.88) - "An affable orchestral-pop opus abounding with artful hooks, rich baritone singing and elegant-as-church-spires piano, Cale's 1970 debut solo LP still sounds wonderful..."

Mojo (Publisher) (3/01, p.112) - "...With pedal steel, big orchestration and Bee-Gees-inspired crooning [this album] broadened Cale's image from avant-garde misfit to genuine pop protTgT..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Exercise
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Vintage Violence [Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top