SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Very Best of Jackson Browne


Product Description
Product Details


1. Doctor My Eyes

2. Jamaica Say You Will

3. Rock Me On The Water

4. Take It Easy

5. These Days

6. Redneck Friend

7. For Everyman

8. For A Dancer

9. Fountain Of Sorrow

10. Late For The Sky

11. Before The Deluge

12. Your Bright Baby Blues

13. Pretender

14. Here Comes Those Tears Again

15. Load-Out (Live)

16. Stay (Live)

17. Running On Empty (Live)

18. You Love The Thunder (Live)

19. Boulevard

20. Somebody's Baby (From Fast Times At Ridgemont High)

21. Tender Is The Night

22. Lawyers In Love

23. In The Shape Of A Heart

24. Lawless Avenues

25. Lives In The Balance

26. I Am A Patriot

27. Sky Blue And Black

28. I'm Alive

29. Barricades Of Heaven

30. Looking East

31. Naked Ride Home

32. Night Inside Me

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Jackson Browne (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars, piano); David Lindley (acoustic & electric guitars, slide guitar, fiddle); Kevin McCormick (acoustic guitar, bass); Clarence White (acoustic guitar); Jesse Ed Davis (electric guitar); Sneaky Pete Kleinow (pedal steel guitar); Craig Doerge (piano, Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards, Mini-Moog synthesizer); David Paich, Elton John (piano); Benmont Tench (Hammond B-3 organ); Jai Winding (organ, synthesizer); Doug Haywood (organ, background vocals); Michael Utley (organ); Leland Sklar, Chuck Rainey (bass); Russell Kunkel (drums, congas); Jeff Porcaro (drums); Luis Conte (percussion); Vonda Shepard, David Crosby, Graham Nash, Glenn Frey, Dan Fogelberg, Don Henley, J.D. Souther, Bonnie Raitt (background vocals).
  • Producers include: Jackson Browne, Al Schmitt, Jon Landau, Greg Ladanyi, Scott Thurston.
  • Compilation producer: Jackson Browne.
  • Recorded between 1972 & 2002. Includes liner notes by Dave Marsh.
  • Personnel: Jackson Browne (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, sequencer); David Lindley (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, lap steel guitar, fiddle); Doug Haywood (vocals, organ, background vocals); Rosemary Butler (vocals); Mark Goldenberg (guitar, electric guitar); Scott Thurston (guitar, keyboards); Danny Kortchmar (guitar, maracas); Rick Vito (guitar, background vocals); John Hall, Waddy Wachtel, Kevin Dukes (guitar); Fred Tackett (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Clarence White, Kevin McCormick (acoustic guitar); Greg Leisz (acoustic 12-string guitar, electric 12-string guitar); Jesse Ed Davis , Val McCallum (electric guitar); Mike Campbell (electric 12-string guitar); Lowell George (slide guitar); Jorge Strunz (nylon-string guitar); Hugo Pedroza (tiple, charango); Craig Doerge (piano, electric piano, Fender Rhodes piano, keyboards, synthesizer, mini-Moog synthesizer); Jai Winding, Bill Payne (piano, organ, synthesizer); David Paich, Elton John, Jeff Scott Young, Roy Bittan (piano); Michael Utley (organ); Russ Kunkel (drums, congas); Larry Zack (drums, percussion); Mickey McGee, Jeff Porcaro, Jim Gordon , Jim Keltner, Mauricio-Fritz Lewak, Rick Marotta, Stan Lynch , Michael Jochum (drums); Walfredo Reyes (congas); Luis Conte (percussion); Arnold McCuller, Valerie Carter (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixers: David Tickle; Dennis Kirk; Ed Cherney ; Greg Ladanyi; James Geddes; Al Schmitt; Richard Sanford Orshoff; Bob Clearmountain.
  • Audio Remasterers: Robert Hadley; Doug Sax.
  • Liner Note Author: Dave Marsh .
  • Recording information: Crystal Studios, Hollywood, CA (08/27/1977/09/06/1977); Downtown, Los Angeles, CA (08/27/1977/09/06/1977); Elektra Sound recorders, Los Angeles, CA (08/27/1977/09/06/1977); Groovemasters, Santa Monica, CA (08/27/1977/09/06/1977); Sunset Sound Factory, Hollywood, CA (08/27/1977/09/06/1977); Sunset Sound Recorders, Hollywood, CA (08/27/1977/09/06/1977); The Garden State Arts Center, Holmdel, NJ (08/27/1977/09/06/1977); The Merriweather Post Pavilion, Columbia, MD (08/27/1977/09/06/1977); The Outpost, Los Angeles, CA (08/27/1977/09/06/1977); The Sound Factory, Los Angeles, CA (08/27/1977/09/06/1977).
  • Photographer: Henry Diltz.
  • Before this double-disc dose of Jackson Browne's best came along, the influential troubadour's most extensive career summary was the 15-song THE NEXT VOICE YOU HEAR. This truly definitive anthology contains just about everything on that disc and plenty more. Browne helped define the 1970s singer/songwriter idiom, and that process is carefully documented here, as on the precociously world-weary "These Days" and the soulful, Van Morrison-like "Doctor My Eyes." The collection follows Browne through the years, as he toughens up his sound with more of a rock edge ("Running on Empty," "Boulevard") and adds a sociopolitical edge to his lyrics ("Lives in the Balance," "I am a Patriot"). Through it all, Jackson's humanity and humility, not to mention his lyrical song-craft, shine with an enviable consistency.
Professional Reviews
Spin (p.104) - "He started as Nico's boy toy, then joined the dashboard confessional set of '70s L.A. rock, playing the emo-folkie foil to the Eagles' faux cowboys and Linda Rondstadt's denim diva."

Uncut (p.171) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[F]or a one-stop career retrospective, this is hard to beat."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.130) - 4 stars out of 5 - "Reflective, honest, articulate."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk
Home » Music » Pop » Folk Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Very Best of Jackson Browne on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top