Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Velvet Underground & Nico 45th Anniversary

Album: The Velvet Underground & Nico 45th Anniversary
# Song Title   Time
1)    Sunday Morning Album Version More Info... 2:56
2)    I'm Waiting For The Man Album Version More Info... 4:40
3)    Femme Fatale Album Version More Info... 2:39
4)    Venus In Furs Album Version More Info... 5:12
5)    Run Run Run Album Version More Info... 4:22
6)    All Tomorrow's Parties Album Version More Info... 6:00
7)    Heroin Album Version More Info... 7:14
8)    There She Goes Again Album Version More Info... 2:41
9)    I'll Be Your Mirror Album Version More Info... 2:14
10)    Black Angel's Death Song Album Version More Info... 3:12
11)    European Son Album Version More Info... 7:48
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Velvet Underground: Lou Reed (vocals, guitar, piano); Doug Yule (vocals, organ, bass); Maureen Tucker (vocals, percussion); Sterling Morrison (guitar, background vocals).
  • Originally released on MGM (4617).
  • Velvet Underground & Nico: Lou Reed (vocals, guitar); Nico (vocals); Sterling Morrison (guitar, bass, background vocals); John Cale (electric viola, piano, bass, background vocals); Maureen Tucker (percussion, background vocals).
  • Recorded at T.T.G. Studios, Hollywood California; Sceptor Studios and Mayfair Sound Studios, New York, New York in April & November 1966 & April-May 1967. Originally released on Verve (5008).
  • Personnel: Lou Reed (vocals, guitar); John Cale (electric viola, piano, celesta, bass guitar, background vocals); Sterling Morrison (bass guitar, background vocals); Maureen Tucker (percussion).
  • Audio Remasterer: Kevin Reeves.
  • Audio Remixers: David Greene; Gene Radice.
  • Recording information: Mayfair Sound Studios, New York City (04/1966); Scepter Studios, New York City (04/1966); T.T.G. Studios, Hollywood, CA (04/1966); Mayfair Sound Studios, New York City (05/1966); Scepter Studios, New York City (05/1966); T.T.G. Studios, Hollywood, CA (05/1966); Mayfair Sound Studios, New York City (11/1966); Scepter Studios, New York City (11/1966); T.T.G. Studios, Hollywood, CA (11/1966).
  • Editors: David Greene; Gene Radice.
  • Photographers: Billy Linich; Nat Finkelstein.
  • Arranger: The Velvet Underground.
  • Brian Eno once said that only a hundred people bought Velvet Underground records when they first came out, but those hundred people all went out and formed their own bands. The rest, of course, is history; the Velvet Underground was the catalyst that helped spark punk rock, and began the growth of an alternative branch within rock and roll's grand family tree. VU's was an unparalleled glimpse into the Summer Of Love's alter ego, complete with graphic, unapologetic descriptions of intravenous drug-use and risque sexual situations. Their 1967 debut, VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO, was a tour de force that may never be equaled for its sheer radicalism in the face of rock convention.
  • The Velvet Underground also mapped out unconquered sonic territories. Bassist John Cale was weaned on deconstructing classical theory--the perfect avant-garde foil to help bring Reed's terse songs to life. Even more noticeable when he would switch to electric viola, Cale's sound evoked the terror of Reed's compositions, with the bowed strings screeching like a runaway subway car. Drummer Maureen Tucker played like no one before her. Her frantic swipes could mimic a galloping rush in "Heroin," or work with the delicate, hesitant charm of "All Tomorrow's Parties." Guitarist Sterling Morrison was a master of his craft, ably switching from oddly Middle-Eastern plucking (the eerie "All Tomorrow's Parties") to head-on rock (the ultra-edgy "Waiting For The Man"), always adding just the right element to fatten the cacophony. VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO is one of rock's most significant debuts.
Professional Reviews
Q (7/96, p.150) - 5 Stars - Indispensable - "...superb..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Exercise
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Velvet Underground & Nico 45th Anniversary on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top