Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Uprising [Bonus Tracks]

Hurry - Only 4 left in stock!
Album: Uprising [Bonus Tracks]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Seeing Red
2)    Say It In Slugs
3)    Won't Back Down
4)    Insanity's Contagious
5)    Something Out of Nothing
6)    Scottish Hell
7)    Time Out
8)    Itch, The
9)    Year In Year Out
10)    Returning To Madness
11)    Come Clean
12)    In the Flesh
1)    Returning To Madness [Demo 1998]
2)    Year In, Year Out [Demo 1998]
3)    Enlist [Demo 1999]
4)    Karen Closed Strong [Demo 1999]
5)    Seeing Red [Demo 1999]
6)    Say It In Slugs [Demo 1999]
7)    Superior [Us Bonus Track Remastered]
8)    Only Ones [Us Bonus Track Remastered], The
9)    Words [Us Bonus Track Remastered]
10)    Enlist [Japan Bonus Track Remastered]
11)    Scottish Hell [Live At Hultsfred 1999] - (live)
12)    America [Live At Hultsfred 1999] - (live)
13)    Antichrist [Live At Hultsfred 1999] - (live)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Entombed: Uffe Cederlund (vocals, guitar, organ); L-G Pertrov (vocals); Alex Hellid (guitar); Jorgen Sandstrom (bass); Peter Stjarnvind (drums).
  • Recorded in 1999 & 2000.
  • Personnel: Lars-Gran Petrov (vocals); Uffe Cederlund (guitar, background vocals); Alex Hellid (guitar); Peter Sthrnvind (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Nico Elgestrand.
  • Audio Remasterer: Sren Von Malmborg.
  • Recording information: Das Boot Studio, Stockholm, Sweden (1998); Das Boot Studios (1998); Hultsfred Festival (1998); Das Boot Studio, Stockholm, Sweden (1999); Das Boot Studios (1999); Hultsfred Festival (1999).
  • Editors: Sren Von Malmborg; Stefan Boman.
  • Photographer: Alex Hellid.
  • Arranger: Entombed.
  • Uprising was intended as a return to form by Entombed, make no mistake, and fortunately it succeeds on all counts. Recorded on a minuscule budget with producer Nico Elgstrand over the course of only 18 days, Uprising was an attempt to recapture the rawness of Entombed's earliest -- and most acclaimed -- work. The second song, "Say It in Slugs," even goes so far as to reprise the guitar riff of "Left Hand Path," the title track of Entombed's 1990 debut album. The band needed a return to form at this point in time. Their previous album, Same Difference (1999), had been a debacle, and while the album before that, To Ride, Shoot Straight and Speak the Truth (1997), was satisfactory in musical terms, if not quite up to par with its excellent predecessor, Wolverine Blues (1993), it too was a debacle in the sense that its release was long delayed because of label problems. And so it's understandable why Entombed wanted to revisit their roots, not only for the sake of their fan base, but for themselves as well. As aforementioned, Uprising is a return to the rawness of Entombed's early work, when they were performing genuine death metal. Granted, this music isn't exactly death metal, at least not in the way that Left Hand Path (1990) and Clandestine (1991) were -- for one, the vocals aren't growled but rather yelled, and too, the tempos never quite reach the point where they become a breakneck blur of grinding guitar riffs and blastbeat drumming -- but it's awfully close and, regardless, it's brutal. The songwriting is the only drawback on Uprising: whereas the musical performance and production are commendable, some of the songs are indistinct from one another, particularly during the latter-half of the album. One of the highlights, after all, is a cover (Dead Horse's "Scottish Hell"), while another is the aforementioned remake of "Left Hand Path" ("Say It in Slugs"). The departure of drummer Nicke Andersson in 1997 left a major songwriting void in the band; guitarist Uffe Cederlund assumed his position as songwriter, and while his songs are musically remarkable, as is well evident here on Uprising, they lack memorable hooks, which is why so many of these songs sound similar to one another (and perhaps why the guitars are so high in the mix relative to the vocals, which are difficult to decipher as a result). Minor drawbacks aside, Uprising is a strong effort by Entombed to regain their footing after losing it in the wake of Wolverine Blues. It's a step in the right direction, no doubt, even if it doesn't quite measure up to the excellence of the band's early work. [The Threeman Recordings version of the album released in the U.S. contains three bonus tracks -- "Superior," "The Only Words," and "Words" -- recorded in June 2000.] ~ Jason Birchmeier
Professional Reviews
Alternative Press (3/01, p.69) - 4 out of 5 - "...A dirty, grumbling fusion of simple riffs, powerful vocals and a full-throttle rhythm section..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Uprising [Bonus Tracks] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top