SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

United States [Digipak] *

Album: United States [Digipak] *
# Song Title   Time
1)    All I Wanna Do
2)    Pure Gold
3)    Don't Say Nothing
4)    I'm Your Baby Now
5)    Mean Old World
6)    Love Letter
7)    Who Says It Ain't Love
8)    Shalalala
9)    How Blue
10)    He's Not for You
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Jud Newcomb (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12-string guitar, slide guitar); Conrad Choucroun (vocals, drums, percussion); Jon Notarthomas (vocals); Leigh Mahoney (violin).
  • Audio Mixers: Martin Hollis; Glyn Johns.
  • Recording information: The Doghouse Studio, Manor, Texas.
  • Director: Ian McLagan.
  • Photographer: Jim Chaplin.
  • Arranger: The Bump Band.
  • Some people do the same thing for years and dig themselves into a rut, and then there's folks like Ian McLagan who know their craft and keep getting solid mileage out of it year after year. McLagan has been playing tough but smooth, soul-satisfying R&B keyboards for close to 50 years, and he's as good at it as he's ever been; if you're looking for a good groove, McLagan's a man who can reliably deliver it, and that's what he does on his 2014 solo effort United States. Backed by his longtime partners the Bump Band -- Scrappy Jud Newcomb on guitars, Jon Notarthomas on bass, and Conrad Choucroun on drums -- McLagan doesn't draw a lot of sweat on United States, but the touch he and his band bring to these songs is superb, delivering an effortlessly pleasurable blues shuffle on "How Blue," cutting some moody funk that suggests a slowed-down version of the Faces on "All I Wanna Do," laying out some graceful midtempo rock as Ian contemplates a failing relationship on "Don't Say Nothing," or offering a sweet and generous lament on "Mean Old World." McLagan is a better instrumentalist than a singer (and his skills on the organ and piano remain subtly top-notch), but on United States, time has given his voice just enough grit that it matches the hard-won lessons of his lyrics, and he sounds honest, soulful, and indomitable on these sessions. Ian McLagan is a lifer in the best sense of the word -- this music is his life, and he's probably going to keep doing it as long as he draws breath -- and he's good enough at what he does to keep a real spark in his music a few decades after he first joined the Small Faces. McLagan's easy but powerful groove makes United States another satisfying episode in the life and career of a true rock & roll believer. ~ Mark Deming
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling United States [Digipak] * on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top