Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Ultimate Collection

Album: The Ultimate Collection
# Song Title   Time
1)    Silver Threads and Golden Needles
2)    I Only Want to Be With You
3)    Stay Awhile
4)    Wishin' and Hopin'
5)    I Just Don't Know What to Do With Myself
6)    All Cried Out
7)    You Didn't Have to Say You Love Me
8)    Oh No, Not My Baby
9)    All I See Is You
10)    Look of Love, The
11)    What's It Gonna Be?
12)    Son of a Preacher Man
13)    Breakfast in Bed
14)    Windmills of Your Mind, The
15)    Brand New Me, A
16)    Tupelo Honey
17)    Mama's Little Girl
18)    Love Like Yours, A
19)    Something in Your Eyes
20)    What Have I Done to Deserve This?
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Dusty Springfield (vocals); Dusty Springfield; Pet Shop Boys, Richard Carpenter , Tom Springfield.
  • Liner Note Author: Jim Pierson.
  • Arrangers: Richard Carpenter ; Trevor Veitch; William D. "Smitty" Smith; Thom Bell.
  • Is Ultimate Collection the best Springfield collection? Well, no; it's missing several of her '60s British hits, like "Losing You," "In the Middle of Nowhere," "Some of Your Lovin'," "Little by Little," "Goin' Back," and "I'll Try Anything." Those are all found on Polygram's The Very Best of Dusty Springfield, the wholly '60s-oriented anthology that remains a superior overview of her best material. If you want something that extends a little wider chronologically, though, this 20-track set is still fine. Her biggest Transatlantic '60s hits are here, as are her one American early-'60s hit as part of the Springfields, "Silver Threads and Golden Needles"; some small hit American singles that don't always make it into her best-ofs, like "What's It Gonna Be?" and "The Windmills of Your Mind"; a few '70s songs, including a cover of Van Morrison's "Tupelo Honey" with an additional verse not contained on Morrison's version; and her big 1987 hit with the Pet Shop Boys, "What Have I Done to Deserve This?" The liner notes include detailed commentary on each track. ~ Richie Unterberger
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Ultimate Collection on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top