Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Truth [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]

Album: Truth [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Shapes of Things
2)    Let Me Love You
3)    Morning Dew
4)    You Shook Me
5)    Ol' Man River
6)    Greensleeves
7)    Rock My Plimsoul
8)    Beck's Bolero
9)    Blues de Luxe
10)    I Ain't Superstitious
11)    I've Been Drinking - (Stereo Mix)
12)    You Shook Me - (Take 1)
13)    Rock My Plimsoul - (Stereo Mix)
14)    (Beck's) Bolero
15)    Blues de Luxe - (Take 1)
16)    Tallyman
17)    Love Is Blue
18)    Hi-Ho Silver Lining - (Stereo Mix)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Jeff Beck (guitar, bass); Rod Stewart (vocals); Nicky Hopkins (piano); John Paul Jones (Hammond organ); Ron Wood (bass); Mick Waller (drums).
  • Producer: Mickie Most.
  • Reissue producer: Bruce Dickinson.
  • Includes liner notes by Jeff Beck.
  • U.K. remastered edition contains the bonus cuts "Tallyman," "Love Is Blue," "Hi Ho Silver Lining," and "I've Been Drinking."
  • The Jeff Beck Group's debut, 1968's TRUTH remains a stunner, probably the best work of the guitarist's long career. Perhaps energized by the bust-up of the Yardbirds, Beck is positively overflowing with ideas throughout the entire album, which pointedly starts with a completely different recasting of the Yardbirds hit "Shapes of Things." TRUTH then continues through an impressively varied set of tunes, ranging from an achingly slow, bluesy version of the Broadway standard "Ol' Man River" to a technically astounding acoustic solo version of "Greensleeves" and a killer pair of Willie Dixon covers including a take on "You Shook Me" that shreds Led Zeppelin's contemporaneous version. Throughout, the then-unknown Rod Stewart sings his heart out; he's as important to the album as Beck himself, and it's unsurprising that when Stewart and bassist Ron Wood left to form the Faces, the Jeff Beck Group never recovered.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (9/28/68, p.29) - "...this album is a classic, much the way the Clapton-Mayall album [THE BLUES BREAKERS WITH ERIC CLAPTON] is....The singing is gorgeous and...first-rate throughout the album....As a group they swing like mad..."

Uncut (p.132) - 3 stars out of 5 - "Arriving a year before Led Zep's debut, TRUTH has a strong claim as the original template for what became heavy metal..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Hard Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Truth [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top