SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Triumph of Steel

Album: The Triumph of Steel
# Song Title   Time
1)    Achilles, Agony and Ecstasy in Eight Parts: Prelude / Hector Storms The Wall / The Death Of Patroclus / Funeral March / Armor Of The Gods / Hector's Final Hour / Death Hector's Reward / Desecration Of Hector's Body, The- Part 1 / Desecration Of Hecto
2)    Metal Warriors
3)    Ride the Dragon
4)    Spirit Horse of the Cherokee
5)    Burning
6)    Power of Thy Sword, The
7)    Demon's Whip, The
8)    Master of the Wind
Product Details


1. Achilles, Agony And Ecstacy In Eight Parts

2. Metal Warriors

3. Ride The Dragon

4. Spirit Of The Cherokee

5. Burning

6. Power Of Sword

7. Demon's Whip

8. Master Of The Wind

Performer Notes
  • Manowar: Eric Adams (vocals); David Shankle (electric, acoustic & classical guitars); Joey DeMaio (4-string, 8-string & piccolo bass guitars, bass pedals); Rhino (drums, percussion).
  • Recorded at Haus Wanfried, New York, New York.
  • With a 28-minute opening track, slightly expanded lyrical themes, and some of the best rhythmic onslaughts recorded by Manowar, The Triumph of Steel is perhaps the band's finest '90s offering. While never abandoning their myopic swords-and-sorcery themed power metal, Manowar had evolved musically during their first decade together and the music of this 1992 release benefits from what must have been countless hours woodshedding extreme musical figures. Tighter than a tumble-dried loin cloth, the standout track "Ride the Dragon" is an exceptionally fast number that signifies a commitment toward high-speed compositions on the part of bassist/songwriter Joey DeMaio. There is absolutely no subtlety or irony to Manowar or their cartoon metal, and many listeners will have trouble taking either seriously. Their credo, "death to false metal," and similar messages are constantly repeated, and unlike other comic book outfits like Gwar, Manowar aren't hamming it up for laughs. They're dead serious. While it's understandable that audiences and critics refuse to even acknowledge Manowar's heavy-handed rallying cries -- in America that is, while the band is often given favorable notices in the European metal press -- there is also something admirable about musicians so committed to what they do, even if it is silly. Loyalty is a rare human attribute, and on The Triumph of Steel, Manowar demonstrate plenty of it to their fans, their craft, and themselves. When considering this veteran outfit, listeners and critics fond of heavy music might pause their snickering for a moment and give Manowar a little credit. For decades the band worked for an ideal, not fashion or money. In so doing, they helped define the bizarre edge of metal's amorphous but very real culture. ~ Vincent Jeffries
Professional Reviews
Q (12/92, p.128) - 3 Stars - Good - "..Manowar return metal to its simplest roots. Certainly, they do it well and ham it to the bone.."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Triumph of Steel on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top