Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Train Of Thought

Album: Train Of Thought
# Song Title   Time
1)    As I Am
2)    This Dying Soul
3)    Endless Sacrifice
4)    Honor Thy Father
5)    Vacant
6)    Stream of Consciousness
7)    In the Name of God
Product Details


Performer Notes
  • This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
  • Dream Theater: James LaBrie (vocals); John Petrucci (guitar); Jordan Rudess (keyboards); John Myung (bass); Mike Portnoy (drums, percussion).
  • Recorded at Cove City Sound, Pie Studios, Glen Cove, New York and Beat Street, New York, New York between April & September 2003.
  • Personnel: James LaBrie (vocals); John Petrucci (guitar); Eugene Friesen (cello); Jordan Rudess (keyboards); Mike Portnoy (drums).
  • Audio Mixer: Kevin Shirley.
  • Recording information: Beat Street Studios, New York, NY (04/2003-09/2003); Cove City Sound Studios, Glen Cove, NY (04/2003-09/2003).
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Derek Kemp; Steve Martin.
  • TRAIN OF THOUGHT continues the legacy of the progressive metal legends, with all the requisite superhuman metallic musicianship that their fans have come to expect. This outing continues in the heavier mode that began with 2002's SIX DEGREES OF INNER TURBULENCE, reaching even further into darker, personal lyrical themes.
  • Guitars are the dominant expressive voice here, with keyboards scaled considerably back from the signature Dream Theater sound. Band members Mike Portnoy (drums) and John Petrucci (guitar) continue their do-it-yourself production approach, opting for recording venues on their native Long Island (much of the band's album work has taken place in upstate New York at Bear Tracks and Little Bear Studios). "As I Am" and "This Dying Soul" at times borrow generously from Metallica, featuring that band's well-known use of tri-tones, and vocalist James LaBrie even tries his hat at some Hetfield-isms. Possibly due to Petrucci's tenure on the G3 Tour (with Joe Satriani and Steve Vai), TRAIN finds him returning to Dream Theater wielding an even more lethal guitar soloing style. Of all the new tracks, the instrumental "Stream of Consciousness" sounds in closest proximity to the band's earlier material, and, for longtime fans, this bodes well for their future efforts.
Professional Reviews
Q (3/04, p.102) - 3 stars out of 5 - "DREAM THEATER were playing pompous, highbrow conceptual metal before nu-metal had a name....[This album] has them gilding the lily like never before."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Train Of Thought on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top