Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Tindersticks (First Album) (+ Bonus CD) [Remaster]

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop

Tindersticks (First Album) (+ Bonus CD) [Remaster]

Artist: Tindersticks

Elsewhere $36.68 $20.97   Save $15.71 (43%)
Price includes NZ wide delivery!
Ships from UK
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: Hip-O
Hurry - Only 4 left in stock!
Album: Tindersticks (First Album) (+ Bonus CD) [Remaster]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Nectar
2)    Tyed
3)    Sweet Sweet Man, A (Part 1)
4)    Whiskey and Water
5)    Blood
6)    City Sickness
7)    Patchwork
8)    Marbles
9)    Walt Blues
10)    Milky Teeth [Original 7" Version]
11)    Sweet Sweet Man, A (Part 2)
12)    Jism
13)    Piano Song
14)    Tye-Die
15)    Raindrops
16)    Sweet Sweet Man Part 3, A
17)    Her
18)    Tea Stain
19)    Drunk Tank
20)    Paco De Renaldo's Dream
21)    Not Knowing, The
1)    Sorrow the Joy Brings [Demo], The
2)    Fruitless [Demo]
3)    Whiskey and Water [Demo]
4)    For Those [Demo]
5)    Blood [Demo]
6)    City Sickness [Demo]
7)    Patchwork [Demo]
8)    Raindrops [Demo]
9)    Piano Song [Demo]
10)    Sweet Sweet Man [Demo], A
11)    Visiting [Demo]
12)    Drunk Tank [Demo]

Performer Notes
  • Tindersticks: Stuart Staples (vocals, guitar); Neil Fraser (guitar); Dickon Hinchliffe (violin); David Boulter (keyboards); Mark Colwill (bass); Alistair Macaulay (drums).
  • Remastered German version features a bonus CD of demos, plus extensive liner notes and new packaging.
  • England's Tindersticks are often compared to the American group Lambchop, as both feature elegant, elaborate orchestrations, a low-key, often gloomy sensibility, and a mumbly vocalist. In contrast to their American peers' roots-identified sound, however, Tindersticks are more like 19th-Century romantics, with a distinctly European sense of decadence. Their debut album finds the Tindersticks sounding more like a conventional rock band than they ever would again.
  • Though strings and horns provide some coloration, the orchestral aspect of the album is limited, and guitar-and-drum-based 4/4 rhythms abound. Still, the band's wonderfully obsessive morbidity and muted tones owe more to the John Cale side of the Velvet Underground than to anything remotely blues-derived. Singer Stuart Staples's often-indecipherable baritone murmur, which bears the influence of Nick Cave and Scott Walker, provides just the right amount of languid world-weariness for the Tindersticks' fragile vision.

Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (12/29/94-1/12/95) - "...A swirl of guitars, violin, trumpet, vibe and bassoon, Tindersticks' nearly 80-minute debut is mood music of...[an] anxious variety....Their best tunes...glimmer like dreams."

Spin (12/94, p.81) - Listed as one of `Spin's Best Albums of '94' - " the moody depths...that swings from spaghetti-western twangathons to sullen cabaret balladry....poignant, beautiful...menacing..."

Entertainment Weekly (6/17/94, p.52) - "...the white-knuckled confessional dirges achieve a haunting beauty..." - Rating: B

Q (1/94, p.102) - 3 Stars - Good

Q (p.141) - 4 stars out of 5 - "[A] strikingly maudlin six-piece capable of producing beautiful music..."

Melody Maker (1/1/94, p.76) - Ranked #1 in Melody Maker's list of the `Albums Of The Year' for 1993 - "...sprawling, ambitious, faltering, brilliant, romantic, spontaneous, spooky, flawed and delightful....a quiet, candlelit inventory of love sorrows..."

Melody Maker (10/9/93, p.38) - "...mystery, grace and a sense of place are here in abundance, and the band's collective imagination extends way beyond the race for a front cover in the music press...."

Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:14 June, 2004


Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

1 review(s)
All Reviews
gavin on
Wow this is a great album and the bonus disc that comes with it is quite good as well. The Tindersticks are known for their haunting music and a quiet menace that builds within them. This is a really fantastic record and is quite likely my favourite after their second album.

Great stuff, check out blood, Marbles, Jism, Her and Whisky and Water.

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Tindersticks (First Album) (+ Bonus CD) [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.