SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

This Way

Album: This Way
# Song Title   Time
1)    Standing Still
2)    Jesus Loves You
3)    Everybody Needs Someone Sometime
4)    Break Me
5)    Do You Want to Play?
6)    Till We Run Out of Road
7)    Serve the Ego
8)    This Way
9)    Cleveland
10)    I Won't Walk Away
11)    Love Me, Just Leave Me Alone
12)    New Wild West, The
13)    Grey Matter - (live, bonus track)
14)    Sometimes It Be That Way - (live, bonus track)
Product Details


1. Standing Still

2. Jesus Loves You

3. Everybody Needs Someone Sometime

4. Break Me

5. Do You Want To Play

6. Till We Run Out Off Road

7. Serve The Ego

8. This Way

9. Cleveland

10. I Won't Walk Away

11. Love Me, Just Leave Me Alone

12. The New Wild West

13. Grey Matter

14. Sometimes It Be That Way

Performer Notes
  • This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files.
  • Personnel includes: Jewel (vocals, acoustic guitar); John Willis, B. James Lowry (acoustic guitar); Dann Huff, Jerry McPherson, Kenny Greeenberg (electric guitar); Jonathan Yudkin (mandolin, cello); The Nashville String Machine (strings); George Tidwell (trumpet); Tim Akers, Steve Nathan (keyboards); Jimmie Sloas (bass); Chris McHugh, Steve Brewster (drums); Eric Darken (percussion); Tedd T. (programming); Chris Rodriguez, Gene Miller, Bekka Bramlett (background vocals); Josh Freese.
  • Recorded at Emerald Entertainment and Ocean Way Nashville, Tennessee; The Sound Kitchen, Franklin, Tennessee.
  • Personnel: John Willis, B. James Lowry (acoustic guitar); Dann Huff, Gordon Kennedy, Jerry McPherson, Kenny Greenberg, J.T. Corenflos (electric guitar); Dan Digmore, Paul Franklin (steel guitar); Jonathan Yudkin (mandolin, fiddle, cello); Roger Spencer , Bruce Christensen, Kathryn Plummer, Connie Ellisor, Karen Winkelmann, Beth Beeson, Dave Angell, Julie Tanner, Gerald Greer, Glenn Wanner, Lynn Bloom, Joy Worland, Anthony LaMarchina, Calvin Smith, Mary Kathryn Van Osdale, Carl Gorodetzky, Pamela Sixfin, Bob Mason , Lee Larrison, Alan Umstead, Monisa Angell, Catherine Umstead, Cate Myer, Janet Askey, Gary VanOsdale (strings); George Tidwell (trumpet); Tim Akers, Steve Nathan (keyboards); Chris McHugh, Steve Brewster (drums); Eric Darken (percussion); David Lyndon Huff, Tedd T. (programming); Wayne Rodrigues (drum programming); Chris Rodrigues, Gene Miller , Lisa Cochran, Bekka Bramlett (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Jeff Balding.
  • Recording information: Emerald ENtertainment, Nashville, TN; Ocean Way Nashville, Nashville, TN; The Sound Kitchen, Franklin, TN.
  • Photographer: Ellen Von Unwerth.
  • Arranger: Mark Goldenberg.
  • The first three songs on Jewel Kilcher's first new album after a long layoff (her previous release was a 1999 Christmas album) embrace country, alternative rock, and a kind of John Cougar Mellencamp rock/country. She finds her own voice five songs in, with the tour de force "Do You Want to Play?" whose smart lyrics combined with a killer chorus are an immediate highlight of this self-assured collection.
  • "Jesus Loves You" is a thoughtful meditation on consumerism that also manages to include the sassy couplet "It's not what I can do for anybody/It's what their body can do for me," underlining the singer's confident way with her subject matter. "Till We Run Out of Road" is that rock & roll staple, the road song, but she returns to form with "Everyone Needs Someone Sometime," a self-explanatory examination in which the singer's smart storytelling skills are on full display. With the inclusion of a couple of solo acoustic live tracks showcasing Jewel's raw talent and its firm rock backbone underlaying her maturing vocals, THIS WAY is a confident return to form from a singer many had previously written off as a one-hit wonder.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (11/22/01, p.89) - 3.5 stars out of 5 - "...Elegant, earthy, engaged..."

Q (2/02, p.110) - 3 stars out of 5 - "...An album of tuneful but calculated pop-rock to be admired rather than loved..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling This Way on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top