Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Thanks I'll Eat It Here [Bonus Track]

Hurry - Only 3 left in stock!
Album: Thanks I'll Eat It Here [Bonus Track]
# Song Title   Time
1)    What Do You Want the Girl to Do
2)    Honest Man
3)    Two Trains
4)    I Can't Stand the Rain
5)    Cheek to Cheek
6)    Easy Money
7)    20 Million Things
8)    Find a River
9)    Himmler's Ring
10)    Heartache
11)    What Do You Want the Girl to Do [Mono 45 Promo Version] - (mono)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Lowell George (vocals, guitar).
  • Additional guest artists: Richie Hayward, David Paich, David Foster, Jim Gordon.
  • Liner Note Author: Joe Reagoso.
  • Photographers: Elizabeth George; Nancy Goldfarb; Bob Marks.
  • Thanks I'll Eat it Here is strikingly different from the fusion-leanings of Little Feat's last studio album, Time Loves a Hero. Lowell George never cared for jazz-fusion, so it should be little surprise that there's none to be heard on Thanks. Instead, he picks up where Dixie Chicken left off (he even reworks that album's standout "Two Trains"), turning in a laid-back, organic collection of tunes equal parts New Orleans R&B, country, sophisticated blues, and pop. George wasn't in good health during the sessions for Thanks, which you wouldn't tell by his engaging performances, but from the lack of new tunes. Out of the nine songs on the album, only three are originals, and they're all collaborations. That's a drawback only in retrospect -- it's hard not to wish that the last album George completed had more of his own songs -- but Lowell was a first-rate interpreter, so even covers of Allen Toussaint ("What Do You Want the Girl to Do"), Ann Peebles ("I Can't Stand the Rain") and Rickie Lee Jones ("Easy Money") wind up sounding of piece with the original songs. George's music rolls so easy, the album can seem a little slight at first, but it winds up being a real charmer. Yes, a few songs drift by and, yes, Jimmy Webb's vaudevellian "Himmler's Ring" feels terribly out of place, but Lowell's style is so distinctive and his performances so soulful, it's hard not to like this record if you've ever had a fondness for Little Feat. After all, it's earthier and more satisfying than any Feat album since Feats Don't Fail Me Now and it has the absolutely gorgeous "20 Million Things," the last great song George ever wrote. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Uncut (p.130) - "Warm, supple and soulful, his singing here affirmed that George was on course to become one of the all-time great stylists, like Boz Scaggs with afterburners."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Thanks I'll Eat It Here [Bonus Track] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top