SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

New Zealand's Lowest Prices. Guaranteed

Thank You [Deluxe Edition]

Album: Thank You [Deluxe Edition]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Watch Me Do
2)    Me Too
3)    NO
4)    Better
5)    Hopeless Romantic
6)    I Love Me
7)    Kindly Calm Me Down
8)    Woman Up
9)    Just a Friend to You
10)    I Won't Let You Down
11)    Dance Like Yo Daddy
12)    Champagne Problems
13)    Mom
14)    Friends
15)    Thank You - (featuring R. City)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Recording information: Elysian Park, CA; MXM Studios, Los Angeles, CA; The Carriage House, Nolensville, TN; the Record Plant, Hollywood, CA; Vietom Studios, Sherman Oaks, CA; Windmark Recording, Santa Monica, CA.
  • Photographer: Tom Schirmacher.
  • Displaying a professional savvy her cheerfully na?ve persona belies, Meghan Trainor ditches the retro sensibilities that fueled her debut album, Title, on its swiftly released successor, Thank You. By no means has Trainor abandoned her theatricality, but drama club exuberance is as inherent to Meghan's persona as Katy Perry's cheerleader pinup is to hers. The key to Thank You is that she's swapped out Glee-ful retro pageantry in favor of modern R&B shepherded by executive producer Ricky Reed. Such a shift in sensibility means Thank You feels fresher than Title, and it's more coherent, too: everything stems from a clean, stylish sensibility. Even when she indulges in a throwback, as when the lights lower for the slow dance "Hopeless Romantic," the simple guitar and vocal arrangements function as a sly accent to the bright, bustling surroundings of the rest of Thank You. Trainor similarly rejiggers her lyrical outlook, leaving behind the attention-grabbing jokes and jibes, not to mention the antiquated sentiments of "Dear Future Husband," relying on the empowerment of "All About That Bass." "If I was you, I'd want to be me too," she sings on "Me Too," only to up the ante with "I don't mean to brag, I don't mean to boast, I love all y'all me the most." Even her mom is better than your mom. All these odes to self are designed to boost the self-esteem of her audience, not Trainor herself, a point underscored by Thank You's shiny, happy pop, equal parts modern R&B and Y2K throwback. Taken on a track by track basis, it can be silly fun -- even such goofball party numbers as "Dance Like Yo Daddy" contain a guileless charm -- and Trainor is smart to keep things light and positive: it's a deliberately youthful sound in an era that yearns for maturity. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Professional Reviews
Spin - "[T]he verses of 'NO' ride vintage Britney/Max Martin, the pre-chorus buildup is an obvious homage to bandmates-era Bey, and the chorus has some TLC in it. The end result is seamless; it's glorious..."

Entertainment Weekly - "On lead single 'NO,' she serves up a catchy sundae of whistles and sassy quips....Tracks like 'Me Too' and 'I Love Me' are instant confidence-spikers..." -- Grade: B+
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Teen Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Thank You [Deluxe Edition] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top