SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Temptation [Digipak]

Album: Temptation [Digipak]
# Song Title   Time
1)    I Learn the Hard Way
2)    Buffalo
3)    Just Like Me
4)    Beautiful Night
5)    Moses and the Lamb
6)    Falling
7)    Somedays
8)    Drifting Dreaming
9)    Day Dreamer
10)    Temptation
11)    Goodbye Darlin
12)    Boy
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Josh Cunningham (vocals, guitar, banjo, ukulele, toy piano, organ); Vikki Thorn (vocals, guitar, mandolin, harmonica); Donna Simpson (vocals, acoustic guitar); Ben Franz (upright bass, electric bass); David Ross MacDonald (drums, percussion).
  • Audio Mixer: Erik Koskinen.
  • Recording information: Underwood Studios, Minneapolis.
  • Photographers: Darin Back; James Low Chan.
  • Continuing to provide a sense of drama, Australian folk trio the Waifs have seen one of their members admitted to rehab for alcohol addiction and another discover Christianity in the subsequent four years since their last album, Sundirtwater. Unsurprisingly, these off-the-field activities have played a major part in the shaping of their sixth studio effort, the appropriately titled Temptation, which in keeping with their low-key stripped-back charms, was recorded in a Minneapolis basement over just ten days. Indeed, there are several times you feel like you've rudely wandered in on a particularly grueling therapy session, such is its soul-baring nature, like on the plaintive ballad "Just Like Me," which sees one of the group's two sisters, Donna Simpson, struggle to contain her emotion while she recalls her battles with the drink; the cathartic melancholy of "Somedays," which expresses the urge for inner freedom against a backdrop of gently strummed acoustics; and the slow-chugging blues of barroom confessional "I Learn the Hard Way." But they are positively cheerful compared to the two numbers penned by born-again Christian Josh Cunningham, whose gruff delivery is the perfect foil for the preacher-like sermons of the apocalyptic "Moses and the Lamb" and the seven-minute gospel-tinged title track. It's not all doom and gloom, though. "Beautiful Night" is a vintage slice of '50s-styled Americana based on the theme of domestic bliss, "Day Dreamer" is the kind of lilting sea shanty you'd expect to find on the beaches of Honolulu, and "Falling" is a steel guitar-laden radio-friendly love song reminiscent of the Dixie Chicks' poppier material. Temptation isn't always a easy listen, but while their personal trials and tribulations could have overshadowed many a lesser band's output, the folk-pop veterans have wisely used them to their advantage, creating a record that is achingly honest but utterly melodic at the same time. ~ Jon O'Brien
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Temptation [Digipak] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top