COVID-19 Response at Fishpond

Read what we're doing...

Taming The Tiger


Product Description
Product Details


1. Harlem In Havana

2. Man From Mars

3. Love Puts On A New Face

4. Lead Balloon

5. No Apologies

6. Taming The Tiger

7. The Crazy Cries Of Love

8. Stay In Touch

9. Face Lift

10. My Best To You

11. Tiger Bones

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Joni Mitchell (vocals, guitar, keyboards, bass, percussion); Femi Jiya (spoken vocals); Michael Landau (guitar); Greg Leisz (pedal steel guitar); Wayne Shorter (saxophone); Larry Klein (bass); Brian Blade (drums).
  • Engineers include: Femi Jiya, Dan Marnien, Tony Phillips.
  • Personnel: Joni Mitchell (vocals, keyboards, percussion, background vocals); Greg Leisz (guitar); Wayne Shorter (saxophone); Brian Blade (drums).
  • Audio Mixers: Dan Marnien; Joni Mitchell.
  • Arranger: Joni Mitchell.
  • Arguably Mitchell's best studio recording since MINGUS, TAMING THE TIGER picks up where TURBULENT INDIGO left off, but there's a notable progression, both musical and lyrical. The biggest reason may be Mitchell's grasping of the production reins. Gone are the slick excesses of bassist Larry Klein's production. TAMING THE TIGER achieves a unity of vision, a fact that also owes to the arrangements' focus on Mitchell's own guitar and synthesizer work. The recurrent sonic texture here is an almost Zawinul-esque tapestry of electronic sounds; silvery synth and guitar-synth form an attractive latticework over which Mitchell lays her jazzy, unpredictable vocal melodies.
  • Though she's grown a bit crankier as she's gotten older, when she lambasts contemporary pop culture (the title track) and attacks Victorian mores ("Face Lift") she doesn't come off as curmudgeonly as she did on the diatribes of her previous album. There's an airiness and joy to TAMING THE TIGER that had been missing in Mitchell's music for a long time. Even the most cerebral tunes have a winning lightness.
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Folk
Home » Music » Pop » Folk Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Taming The Tiger on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top