SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Take a Break

Album: Take a Break
# Song Title   Time
1)    Where Do Broken Hearts Go
2)    Hello
3)    End of the Road
4)    Ain't No Sunshine
5)    Nothing Compares 2 U
6)    Crazy
7)    Isn't She Lovely
8)    I Believe I Can Fly
9)    Oh Girl
10)    I'll Be There
11)    Mona Lisa
12)    Save the Best for Last
13)    Natural Woman
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Me First And The Gimmie Gimmes: Spike (vocals); Jake Jackson (guitar, ukulele); Joey Cape (guitar); Fat Mike (bass); Dave (drums).
  • Recorded at Motor Studios, San Francisco, California. Includes liner notes by Christopher Dodge.
  • Personnel: Spike Slawson (vocals); Jackson (guitar, ukulele); Joey Cape (guitar).
  • Liner Note Author: Christopher "Snoop Dodgy" "C Dawg" Dodge.
  • Recording information: Motor Studios, San Francisco, CA.
  • Photographer: Jay Blakesberg.
  • TAKE A BREAK drags punk rock's premier cover band back from their respective day jobs with NOFX, Lagwagon, and No Use For A Name for another trawl through the pop charts of yesteryear. Highlights include an "Isn't She Lovely" that's a collision of Gary Glitter and Stevie Wonder and a version of Lionel Richie's "Hello" that will only seem scary if you haven't heard their take on Aretha's "Natural Woman."
  • All the above are delivered with the energy and genre-mixing panache you'd expect from these seasoned veterans, with enough variety and respect for the originals to avoid what could have been a one-dimensional exercise in punkifying old hits. Cases in point are their take on the Jackson 5's "I'll Be There," which manages to incorporate snippets of The Cars' "You're Just What I Needed," and their "Anarchy in the UK"-laced interpretation of Vanessa Williams' wedding-dance special 'Save the Best For Last," both of which should be heard to be believed.
Professional Reviews
Alternative Press (8/03, p.90) - 4 out of 5 - "...The Gimmes don't disappoint. TAKE A BREAK features 14 Red Bull-speed versions of R&B staples..."p
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Take a Break on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top