Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Stronger With Each Tear

Album: Stronger With Each Tear
# Song Title   Time
1)    Whole Lotta Love
2)    Tonight
3)    One, The
4)    I Can't Wait
5)    Good Love
6)    I Feel Good
7)    I Am
8)    Each Tear
9)    I Love U
10)    City on Fire
11)    Stronger
12)    In the Morning
13)    Color
14)    Stairway to Heaven
15)    I Am [Dave Aud? Remix]
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Stronger with Each Tear's first four songs are decorated like NASCAR vehicles, with IDs from the Runners and Akon, Rodney Jerkins, Ryan Leslie, Stereotypes, and T.I. all heard before the voice of Mary J. Blige enters the mix. Sound logos and gratuitous self-serving plugs from producers and guest MCs are nothing new in mainstream R&B, but when an album by Mary J. Blige is dominated by them, in such an extended succession, a longtime follower's minor irritation has the potential to turn to low-level rage. And while it is also understandable that the appearance of 2009 breakout star Drake on "The One" will help boost sales, the disparity is glaring; the MC was five years old when What's the 411? was released. Trey Songz, featured on another track, wasn't much older. Even when factoring these matters, Stronger with Each Tear is a very good Blige album, if not a classic. One of her briefest sets, it is tremendously (almost studiously) balanced between all the ground she has covered so well before. That's no criticism, though, since most of the songs are easily memorable and display so much range. Those who detest "The One" on principle, for its use of Auto-Tune, need only to forward to the album's final song, a quiet and sparse throwback (to 40-plus years ago) production from Raphael Saadiq in which Blige professes new love to chilling effect. ~ Andy Kellman
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (pp.55-56) - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "Blige's experiment works in the context of her album....In the fantastic Stargate/Ne-Yo jam 'I Feel Good,' she flashes the robot-voice ostinatos like a new pair of stilettos."

Entertainment Weekly (p.71) - "There's so much feel-goodness, you might long for the drama of yore. Luckily, she brings it on the bouncy piano groove 'Kitchen'..." -- Grade: B

Billboard (p.32) - "Blige has never been in better voice -- or more adventurous. The metaphor-rich 'Kitchen' finds the singer/songwriter admonishing would-be man-stealers."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Urban
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Stronger With Each Tear on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top