Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Street's Disciple [Parental Advisory]

Album: Street's Disciple
# Song Title   Time
1)    Intro
2)    Message to the Feds, Sincerely We the People, A
3)    Nazareth Savage
4)    American Way
5)    These Are Our Heroes
6)    Disciple
7)    Sekou Story
8)    Live Now
9)    Rest of My Life
10)    Just a Moment
11)    Reason
12)    You Know My Style - (Bonus Track)
1)    Suicide Bounce
2)    Street's Disciple
3)    U.B.R. (Unauthorized Biography of Rakim)
4)    Virgo
5)    Remember the Times (Intro)
6)    Remember the Times
7)    Makings of a Perfect B****, The
8)    Getting Married
9)    No One Else in the Room
10)    Bridging the Gap
11)    War
12)    Me & You (Dedicated to Destiny)
13)    Thief's Theme - (Bonus Track)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Nas (rap vocals, various instruments); Olu Dara (vocals, guitar, harmonica, trumpet); Emily, Kelis, Keon Bryce, Maxwell , Scarlett , Quan (vocals); Ludacris, Busta Rhymes (rap vocals); Vincent Henry (guitar, strings, harmonica, saxophone); Chucky Thompson (guitar, piano, bass guitar, drums); Salaam Remi (guitar, Fender Rhodes piano, organ, bass guitar, drums); L.E.S. (drums); Doug E. Fresh (sound effects).
  • While Nas has never been one for false modesty, it must be quite the rush to include his father, jazz trumpeter Olu Dara, on his single "Bridging the Gap" to speak of his son becoming "the greatest man alive." While that's a tall order, Nas is indisputably among the premier lyricists and provocative thinkers in hip-hop history. The Queens, New York native's seventh record, STREET'S DISCIPLE, is his most ambitious to date, a double album consisting of more than an hour of continual flow, encompassing many corners of the musical map with style.
  • Without need for filler or skits, the ultra-focused Nas has more than enough on his mind and in his rhyme arsenal to fill the two discs. He opens by raising Cain on false idols, first indicting both sides of the political spectrum on "Nazareth Savage," then scathingly tearing into Kobe Bryant and Puff Daddy (among others) on "These Are Our Heroes." Nas does a double shot of old-school rap, chronicling the life of Rakim on "U.B.R. (Unauthorized Biography of Rakim)" before nodding to Doug E. Fresh on "Virgo." Tying together this potent outing, Nas closes with a flurry of classic rhymes, on the grimy-yet-melodic bonus track, "Thief's Theme."
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (p.157) - 3 1/2 stars out of 5 - "DISCIPLE is the rare instance of hip-hop old and wise enough to look backward without forgetting what it was like to look ahead with awe and wonder."

Entertainment Weekly (p.84) - "The set's nostalgic production - old soul samples, '80s-era breakbeats, bluesy guest appearances from his jazz-player pops - nicely underscores Nas' reconciliation with his roots and responsibilities." - Grade: A-
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » General
Home » Music » Urban » Hip Hop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Street's Disciple on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top