Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Album: Storm
# Song Title   Time
1)    Storm
2)    Silence
3)    Ashes and Dreams
4)    Voices
5)    Fade
6)    Begin and End
7)    Senseless
8)    Exile
9)    Disintegration
10)    Debris
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Rico Darum (guitars, programming); Sareeta (violin).
  • Audio Mixer: Greg Reely.
  • Recording information: Elektrostal Studio; Fagerborg Studios; Toproom Studio.
  • Like so many Scandinavian metal bands of the '90s and 2000s, Theatre of Tragedy have had their share of personnel changes, and along the way, different lineups have offered different interpretations of Dream Theater's sound. On Storm, newcomer Nell Sigland (formerly of the Crest) replaces Liv Kristine Espenaes as Theatre's female lead vocalist; some longtime fans will wonder if there can be life after Espenaes for the Norwegian outfit, and the answer is a definite yes. Sigland sounds a lot like her predecessor, favoring an angelic, sweetly ethereal approach, and she proves herself to be a valuable addition to Theatre on an industrial-tinged goth metal/goth rock disc that is aggressive and rocking but never flat-out brutal. Theatre still goes for the female singer/male singer juxtaposition, but Raymond Rohonyi (the male lead singer) doesn't embrace an extreme vocal style; instead of a death metal growl, a black metal rasp or tortured metalcore screaming, what we get from Rohonyi is merely a mainstream vocal style with a slightly ominous edge. In fact, those who are hoping for any harsh, blistering, cave-your-skull-in antics on Storm will be disappointed; nothing really extreme or punishing occurs. What Theatre does offer is a highly melodic, very musical and listenable goth album with a strong sense of craftsmanship; goth enthusiasts will find a great deal to admire about Storm even if they aren't big metal fans. Along the way, Theatre of Tragedy have had their creative ups and downs (more ups than downs). The appealing Storm is one of their more consistent efforts and is a welcome addition to their catalog even though it isn't the sledgehammer assault that some headbangers were no doubt hoping for. ~ Alex Henderson
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Storm on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top