SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Songs of Distant Earth

Album: The Songs of Distant Earth
# Song Title   Time
1)    In the Beginning
2)    Let There Be Light
3)    Supernova
4)    Magellan
5)    First Landing
6)    Oceania
7)    Only Time Will Tell
8)    Prayer For the Earth
9)    Lament For Atlantis
10)    Chamber, The
11)    Hibernaculum
12)    Tubular World
13)    Shining Ones, The
14)    Crystal Clear
15)    Sunken Forest, The
16)    Ascension
17)    New Beginning, A
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • THE SONGS OF DISTANT EARTH is an enhanced CD. In addition to 70 minutes of music that can be played on any CD player, it includes a CD-ROM track that allows users to travel through a futuristic city. The CD-ROM track also includes a video clip for "Let There Be Light." These multimedia functions are accessible only on Macintosh systems.
  • Personnel: Mike Oldfield; Cori Josias, Ella Harper, David Nickless, Roame, Members of "Verulam Consort," The Tallis Scholars (vocals); Molly Oldfield (keyboards); Pandit Dinesh (tabla); Eric Cadieux (programming); Mark Rutherford, Sugar "J" (loops).
  • Includes liner notes by Arthur C. Clarke.
  • THE SONGS OF DISTANT EARTH is loosely based on Arthur C. Clarke's book of the same title.
  • Personnel: David Nickless, Ella Harper, Verulam Consort (Members Of), Roame, Cori Josias, The Tallis Scholars (vocals); Molly Oldfiend (keyboards); Pandit Dinesh (tabla); Eric Cadieux (programming).
  • Liner Note Author: Arthur C. Clarke.
  • The Songs of Distant Earth blend together two motifs crafted through Mike Oldfield's atmospheric music. (Both outer space and inner space under water) are the themes of this album, but Oldfield's synthesized artistry comes up short during the course of the 17 tracks, mainly because of the intermittent talking and unnecessary vocabulary that quickly becomes irksome and ineffective. About the music, it is usually Mike Oldfield's differentiation of rhythms or styles on a song to song basis that makes his music thought-provoking and fresh. On this album, the same rhythm lurks through half of the songs, with only smidgens of add-on instrumentation to elevate its flow. Absent is the freewheeling percussion pulses, or the onslaught of strings that so often shower his music. Instead, each track seems flat as his keyboard work comes off gray and bland. Even a few sudden bursts of tempo become short lived, as the pace always falls back to its straight-lined origin. Inspired by Arthur C. Clarke, Oldfield tries to capture the wonder and mystery of the stars and the sea through washes of synthesizer, but his attempt at capturing both themes could have benefited from a multitude of other instruments, as his work usually includes. ~ Mike DeGagne
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Songs of Distant Earth on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top