Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Songs from the Wood [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster]


Product Description
Product Details


1. Songs From The Wood

2. Jack In The Green

3. Cup Of Wonder

4. Hunting Girl

5. Bring Out Solstice Bells

6. Velvet Green

7. The Whistler

8. Pibroch (Cap In Hand)

9. Fire At Midnight

10. Beltane -Velvet Green (Live)

Performer Notes
  • Jethro Tull: Ian Anderson (vocals, acoustic guitar, mandolin, flute, whistles); Martin Barre (electric guitar, lute); John Evans, David Palmer (keyboards); Barriemore Barlow (marimba, glockenspiel, drums, bells, nakers, tabor); John Glascock (bass, background vocals).
  • Personnel: Ian Anderson (vocals, whistling, acoustic guitar, mandolin, flute); John Glascock (vocals, bass guitar); Martin Barre (electric guitar, lute); John Evan (piano, organ, synthesizer); Dee Palmer (piano, portative organ, synthesizer); Barriemore Barlow (marimba, glockenspiel, drums, nakers, tabor, bells).
  • Liner Note Author: Ian Anderson .
  • Recording information: La Maison Rouge Mobile Studio; Morgan Studios.
  • Author: Ian Anderson .
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Keith Howard.
  • Arranger: Jethro Tull.
  • In terms of rustic, tights-wearing, elf-loving, flute-heavy, British/Celtic folk-tinged '70s prog-rock, SONGS FROM THE WOOD is the most Tull of all Jethro Tull albums. By 1977 the band had ventured far enough from its heavy blues-rock beginnings to create a completely unique, idiosyncratic sound, filled with European folk mythology, rural imagery and an endearing combination of art-rock and British folk-rock. Elaborate synthesizer fanfares mix with delicate acoustic guitar tapestries, complex arrangements and odd time signatures. SONGS FROM THE WOOD strikes the perfect balance between the proggie ambition of THICK AS A BRICK, the storytelling style of AQUALUNG and the courtly, medieval air of MINSTREL IN THE GALLERY.
Professional Reviews
Uncut (6/03, p.138) - 4 stars out of 5 - "...There's no doubting the band's ability to combine awesomely complex time signatures and effete fife-tabor-mandolin-and-bells effects while rocking out..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Art Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Songs from the Wood [Bonus Tracks] [Remaster] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top