SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Something To Remember-Her Greatest Hits


Product Description
Product Details


1. I Want You

2. I'll Remember (Theme From The Motion Picture With

3. Take A Bow

4. You'll See

5. Crazy For You

6. This Used To Be My Playground

7. Live To Tell

8. Love Don't Live Here Anymore (Remix)

9. Something To Remember

10. Forbidden Love

11. One More Chance

12. Rain

13. Oh Father

14. I Want You (Orchestral)

Performer Notes
  • SOMETHING TO REMEMBER is a collection of Madonna's ballads. It includes two new songs, "You'll See" and "One More Chance," and two versions of "I Want You," originally recorded for the Marvin Gaye tribute album INNER CITY BLUES, which was released three weeks earlier.
  • Personnel includes: Madonna (vocals); Dean Parks (acoustic guitar); Michael Thompson (electric guitar); Suzie Katayama (cello); David Foster, Jan Mullaney (keyboards); Simon Franglen (programming); Massive Attack.
  • Producers include: Nellee Hooper, Madonna, Patrick Leonard, Babyface, David Foster.
  • Engineers include: David Reitzas.
  • Recorded at Chartmaker Studios; Brooklyn Studios. Includes liner notes by Madonna.
  • Personnel: Dean Parks (acoustic guitar); Michael Hart Thompson , Michael Thompson (electric guitar); Suzie Katayama (cello); Jan Mullaney, David Foster (keyboards); Simon Franglen (Synclavier, programming).
  • Audio Mixer: Dave Reitzas.
  • Recording information: Brooklyn Studios; Chartmaker Studios; Los Angeles, CA.
  • Photographers: Dean Chamberlain; Mario Testino.
  • Arrangers: Madonna; Rob Mounsey; David Foster.
  • She can dance and she can jive, and most of the time that's why you buy Madonna records. She's our real-life dancing queen. So if buying an album advertised as her "Greatest Ballad Hits" strikes you as sort of like buying acoustic Abba, you're probably not alone.
  • But ever since TRUE BLUE, Madonna has displayed a keen interest in pop orchestration and smoky, soulful singing. On the breakthrough "Live To Tell," she discovered the low end of her vocal range, while co-producer and co-writer Patrick Leonard built a psychedelic swell of keyboards, guitars and sound effects around her. It was like nothing she had done before, dealing directly with dark secrets, foreshadowing an adult pop sound that she'd stick by through all the twists, turns and trends that followed. SOMETHING TO REMEMBER collects such slow and mid-tempo tracks from the various nooks in which Madonna's hidden them (though most were singles, many had showed up in album form only on soundtracks), and shows off the dark chanteuse qualities that she has only intermittently gotten credit for.
  • Notice the almost Beatlesque harmonies and swooping strings of her 1994 hit "Take A Bow," the dream-like feel of the electric piano on the wistful "This Used To Be My Playground," or the epic feel of "Oh Father," which starts with a dance of classical strings before dipping to a soul-baring vocal about the causes and effects of child abuse. The three new songs on SOMETHING TO REMEMBER are formidable additions to this oeuvre. "You'll See," with its Spanish guitar flourishes and lyric about surviving a wrecked affair, is a direct sequel to "Take A Bow." "I Want You," a Marvin Gaye cover that also appears on the Gaye tribute album INNER CITY BLUES, is a stunning collaboration with UK's Massive Attack, taking Madonna into a trippy, spare realm that sounds like dub with strings. And "One More Chance" is, amazingly, almost acoustic Madonna--the dancing queen cast improbably as the strumming princess.
Professional Reviews
Entertainment Weekly (11/24/95, p.107) - "...By placing her greatest-hit a new context--that is, separated from her more attention-getting dance music--Madonna reinvigorates them, which is just what a good best-of compilation is supposed to do..." - Rating: A

Q (2/96, p.109) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...the best thing she has done in many a year..."

Melody Maker (11/11/95, p.40) - "...she's obviously hoping to be remembered as sultry crooner rather than pouting disco queen....the breathless, steam-showered, snogtastic, Massive Attack-accompanied take on Marvin Gaye's 'I Want You' is irrefutably incredible..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
Home » Music » R&B » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Something To Remember-Her Greatest Hits on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top