SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Smokers Delight

Album: Smokers Delight
# Song Title   Time
1)    Nights Interlude
2)    Dredd Overboard
3)    Pipes Honour
4)    Me + You
5)    Stars
6)    Wait a Minute
7)    Groove St.
8)    Time (To Listen)
9)    (Man) Tha Journey
10)    Bless My Soul
11)    Cruise (Don't Stop)
12)    Mission Venice
13)    What I'm Feelin' (Good)
14)    Rise
15)    Rise (Reprise)
16)    Gambia Via Vagator Beach
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Nightmares On Wax: George Evelyn.
  • Additional personnel: Chris Dawkins (guitar); Taylor Firth (keyboards, programming); Hamlet Luton (bass); Shovell (percussion); E.A.S.E. (programming).
  • Engineers: Phil Jones, Richard Brown, Bruce Wood.
  • Recorded at Fon Studios, Sheffield, England; T.T.B. Studios, Wakefield, England; Touchwood Studios, Leeds, England.
  • This largely instrumental, second Nightmares on Wax album--after the highly regarded WORD OF SCIENCE-- is essentially a solo work by George Evelyn, made after the departure of his partner, Kevin Haper. The booklet contains a plea that this record not be referred to as trip-hop, saying that it is actually hip-hop. Though a reasonable request, make no mistake--SMOKERS DELIGHT is in no way a hip-hop record in the way that, say, Too Short's SHORTY THE PIMP is a hip-hop record.
  • Opening with a four-and-a-half minute slow groove, driven by piano and bass, SMOKERS DELIGHT clearly sets itself apart from mainstream hip-hop--the tracks feature serious jazz influences, touches of ambient, some very low-key funk, and almost no vocals. The best tracks are the more than seven-minute-long "Groove St.," featuring the kind of rubbery bass line that recalls Bernie Worrell's finest; the meandering build-up and wiggly guitar of "Cruise (Don't Stop)"; and the awe-inspiring, good-natured secret agent sleaze of "Mission Venice." If you are in the mood for a cool, down-tempo trip, SMOKERS DELIGHT is your ticket.
Professional Reviews
Alternative Press (2/96, p.78) - "...Hip-hop beats, jazz sonorities, syncopated rhythms--NOW pull them all together, folding them into a smooth, frothy concoction. Pure aural seduction."

CMJ (10/23/00, p.10) - Included in CMJ's "5 Essential Downbeat Albums" - "...A stony affair comprised of languid jazz melodies, rolling dub-bass, lazy funk riffs and instrumental hip-hop ambience..."

Option (3-4/96, p.115) - " electro-pop fan's dream come true...sophisticated stoner music, leaving behind the usual cheap grooves and easy laughs for over an hour's worth of pure electronic soul..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Smokers Delight on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top