Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Siren Song of the Counter-Culture


Product Description
Product Details


1. State Of The Union

2. The First Drop

3. Life Less Frightening

4. Paper Wings

5. Blood To Bleed

6. To Them These Streets Belong

7. Tip The Scales

8. Anywhere But Here

9. Give It All

10. Dancing For Rain

11. Swing Life Away

12. Rumors Of My Demise Have Been Greatly Exaggerated

13. Obstructed View

Performer Notes
  • U.K. edition
  • CD contains 1 bonus track.
  • Audio Mixer: Andy Wallace.
  • Recording information: Plimper Mountain Sound, Gibsons, British Columbia, Cana; The Warehouse Studio, Vancouver, British Columbia, Cana.
  • Photographer: Lisa Johnson.
  • Rise Against's somewhat sudden major label-ness has slightly diluted their direct assault on melodic hardcore, but the adjustment should only invite more sugar punkers to the Chicago combo's bittersweet party. Rise Against has moved up in the sonic nicety department -- loud rock vet GGGarth produces, and the Andy Wallace mix is a flawless cross section of thick, grit, and slick. But Siren Song of the Counter Culture is simply the band's latest statement, combining their significant yet not unwelcome Bad Religion influence with nods to the rousing choruses of peers like AFI. Beyond that grandiose title -- that line could've been lifted from a Crass treatise, for Pete's sake -- Rise Against seem to have diversified their lyrical base. There are still salvos of sharply defined social criticism -- "If we're the flagship of peace and prosperity/We're taking on water and about to f*cking sink," begins the blistering hardcore opener, "State of the Union." But Rise Against also rock on the personal reflection or relationship tip. "Paper Wings" builds a sad story about growing apart around a winning lead guitar lick straight from their Fat Wreck past, while the staggeringly paced "Blood to Bleed" is in the bitter first person. "'I don't love you anymore/Is all I remember you telling me." Sometimes Siren Song gets carried away with its own melodic urgency. The multiple layers of guitars and somewhat obvious mixing tweaks in "Tip the Scales" and "Rumors of My Demise Have Been Greatly Exaggerated" lead Rise Against to lose the thread of hardcore volatility that's driven them since the beginning. Still, this is their major-label debut, and a band's gotta eat, so maybe the fuller sound and occasional forays into acoustic guitars and cello overdubs ("Dancing for Rain") are okay. Rise Against has always been pretty sincere in both its politics and commitment to hardcore revivalism, so if Siren Song nods to accessibility, it's only to recruit more kids for the raging. [This release of the album contains bonus material.] ~ Johnny Loftus
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Siren Song of the Counter-Culture on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top