Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Silver Pistol / Please Don't Ever Change

Album: Silver Pistol / Please Don't Ever Change
# Song Title   Time
1)    Dry Land
2)    Merry Go Round
3)    One More Day
4)    Nightingale
5)    Silver Pistol
6)    Last Time I Was Fooled, The
7)    Unknown Number
8)    Range War
9)    Egypt
10)    Niki Hoeke Speedway
11)    Ju Ju Man
12)    Rockin' Chair
13)    Hooked on Love
14)    Why Do We Hurt the One We Love?
15)    I Worry ('Bout You Baby)
16)    Don't Ever Change
17)    Home in My Hand
18)    Play That Fast Thing (One More Time)
19)    I Won't Make It Without You
20)    Down in Mexico
21)    Speedoo
22)    Version, The (Hypocrite)
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • 2 LPs on 1 CD: SILVER PISTON (1972)/PLEASE DON'T EVER CHANGE (1973).
  • Brinsley Schwarz (Group): Ian Gomm, Nick Lowe (vocals, guitar, bass guitar); Bob Andrews (vocals, keyboards); Brinsley Schwarz (guitar); Billy Rankin (drums).
  • This two-album-on-one-CD compilation captures Brinsley Schwarz at their musical peak on two levels. The material on Silver Pistol, arguably their best album, is remastered impeccably so that you can practically hear the action on the acoustic guitar strings on "Nightingale" and get just as close to the electric guitar on "Silver Pistol," while the electric bass on "The Last Time I Was Fooled" feels like it's in your lap. Those songs, along with "Unknown Number," "Merry-Go-Round," and "Egypt," were all authored by Nick Lowe, and alternating with some equally substantial contributions by Ian Gomm, they made Silver Pistol about the most dazzling body of American rock songwriting since the days when Neil Young, Stephen Stills, and Richie Furay were divvying up Buffalo Springfield's classic albums between them -- indeed, this CD makes one think of the artistic peak that the latter group never had a chance to reach, owing to personnel problems; and, in fact, Lowe's and Gomm's divergent yet not dissimilar roots-based styles call the Stills/Young pairing to mind on yet another level. And then there's the second half of the CD, the somewhat slapped-together contents of Please Don't Ever Change, any of which sounds like it could easily be among the best work of the band. And even that shows the levels of perfection Brinsley Schwarz were achieving on just the individual, one-off efforts they generated when they weren't shooting for any big targets. (And except for Showaddywaddy, what other group during the 1970s was covering the Cadillacs' "Speedo" as a serious number?). And all of it, off both albums, is presented in glittering state of the art digital audio and backed up with superb notes by Alan Robinson -- it's all a little bit of what one corner of rock & roll heaven should sound like. ~ Bruce Eder
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Silver Pistol / Please Don't Ever Change on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top