Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Sign O' The Times [2 Discs]


Product Description
Product Details


1. Sin The Times

2. Play In The Sunshine

3. Housequake

4. The Ballad Of Dorothy Parker

5. It

6. Starfish Coffee

7. Slow Love

8. Hot Thing

9. Forever In My Life

Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Prince (vocals, various instruments); Lisa Coleman (vocals, sitar, wooden flute, keyboards); Sheila E. (vocals, percussion); Susannah, Jill Jones, Sheena Eastson, Camille (vocals); Wendy Melvoin (guitar, percussion, background vocals); Mico Weaver (guitar); Eric Leeds (saxophone); Atlanta Bliss (trumpet); Greg Brooks, Wally Safford, Jerome Benton, Gilbert D., Coke J., Todd H., Susan R., Mike S., Brad M., The Penguin (background vocals).
  • Engineers: Susan Rogers, Coke Johnson, Prince.
  • Principally recorded at Paisley Park, Minneapolis, Minnesota and Sunset Sound, Los Angeles, California.
  • Composer: Prince.
  • Personnel: Prince (vocals, guitar, keyboards, drums, background vocals); Sheena Easton (vocals, background vocals); Camille (vocals); Wendy Melvoin (guitar, background vocals); Mico Weaver (guitar); Lisa Coleman (sitar, flute, background vocals); Eric Leeds (saxophone); Atlanta Bliss (trumpet); Sheila E. (drums, percussion); Jill Jones, Gregg Brooks, Susannah, Jerome Benton, Susanna Hoffs (background vocals).
  • Recording information: Dierks Studio Mobile Trucks (1982-1987); Paisley Park Studios, Minneapolis, MN (1982-1987); Paris, France [live] (1982-1987); Sunset Sound Studios, Los Angeles, CA (1982-1987).
  • Photographer: Jeff Katz.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Penguin; Prince and the Revolution; Mike Scheidt.
  • Arranger: Prince.
  • After an adventurous run through fields of Beatlesque psychedelia, Prince seemed ready to get back to the task of creating the epic that both his audience and adoring critics had been demanding since PURPLE RAIN. Originally put together as a three-LP opus titled CRYSTAL BALL (but pared down pre-release by the picky artist), SIGN O' THE TIMES wasn't exactly the historic merger of rock and R&B that the world had been expecting. Instead, it played like an ultimate mix-tape of Prince-ly styles--from grinding, house music-inspired funk ("Housequake") to idiosyncratic pieces of irresistibly sweet pop fare ("Starfish And Coffee"). Yet, the man's singular outlook could constantly be identified; and as varied as the music got, that outlook worked as a uniting factor.
  • Abandoning the Revolution and returning to the one-man-band ethic made the overall sound of SIGN O' THE TIMES far more spare than recent efforts. Various members did make random contributions, and the entire group is featured on a lone live track (the driving extenda-groove, "It's Gonna Be A Beautiful Night"); but Prince seemed adamant about unshackling himself from the responsibilities of being a particular band's leader, and constructed an album that reflected his evolving musical vision, rather than the Revolution's signature sound. Though that sound still rears its head--particularly on "Play In The Sunshine"--on SIGN O' THE TIMES, it's only part of the picture.
  • The other parts are as discombobulated as Prince the one-man-band had always been. Social relevance as a funky turn ("Sign O' The Times"), spiritual strength as heavy metal gospel ("The Cross"), and sex in every form and position possible were all moves Prince had already done, or at least hinted at. But never before had he delivered these moves with such maturity, or as such a complete package, which is why SIGN O' THE TIMES is undoubtedly among the apexes of Prince's career.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - Ranked #74 in Rolling Stone's "100 Greatest Albums Of The Eighties" survey. (Nov. 89)

Rolling Stone (12/11/03, p.118) - Ranked #93 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "...One of the great albums of the Eighties..."

Spin - "SIGN 'O' THE TIMES sounds so loose it could be nothing but outtakes -- except nobody else's outtakes would sound so strong, rock so hard, swing so free."

Q (10/01, p.70) - Ranked #22 in Q's "Best 50 Albums of Q's Lifetime"

Q - 5 Stars - Indispensible

NME (Magazine) (9/25/93, p.18) - Ranked #4 among The 50 Greatest Albums Of The '80s - "...God's own pervdwarf at the peak of his prolific, unimpeachable creative powers..."

NME (Magazine) (10/2/93, p.29) - Ranked #16 in NME's list of the 'Greatest Albums Of All Time.'

Pitchfork (Website) - "Choosing a single high point from Prince's glorious run in the '80s is impossible, but SIGN 'O' THE TIMES surely stands as his most complex and varied statement."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » Funk
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Sign O' The Times on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top