SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over a million Toys in our Huge New Range

Secret Samadhi

New or Used: 12 copies from $4.94
Album: Secret Samadhi
# Song Title   Time
1)    Rattlesnake More Info... 4:52
2)    Lakini's Juice More Info... 4:59
3)    Graze More Info... 5:40
4)    Century More Info... 3:23
5)    Ghost More Info... 6:20
6)    Unsheathed More Info... 3:37
7)    Insomnia And The Hole In The Universe More Info... 4:02
8)    Turn My Head More Info... 3:57
9)    Heropsychodreamer More Info... 2:47
10)    Freaks More Info... 4:51
11)    Merica More Info... 3:21
12)    Gas Hed Goes West More Info... 5:35
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Live: Chad Taylor, Patrick Dahlheimer, Chad Gracey, Edward Kowalczyk.
  • Additional personnel: Jennifer Charles (vocals); John Carin (keyboards).
  • Recorded at The Hit Factory, New York, New York in 1996.
  • All tracks have been digitally mastered using HDCD technology.
  • Personnel: Jon Carin (keyboards); Jennifer Charles (background vocals).
  • Audio Mixer: Tom Lord-Alge.
  • Recording information: South Beach Studios, Miami, FL; The Hit Factory, New York, NY; The Record Plant, L.A., CA.
  • Photographer: Keith Carter.
  • Unknown Contributor Roles: Ed Kowalczyk; Patrick Dahlheimer; Chad Gracey; Chad Taylor .
  • The members of this Pennsylvania foursome have been playing together since high school, and it shows in the empathic communication that exists between them; fans may hear SECRET SAMADHI as simply a followup to the 1994 pop smash THROWING COPPER, but it has the strength of years of music-making behind it. Bass, drums, guitars and vocals operate in perfect conjunction with each other, creating a wholly interdependent web of sound. This is music as sincere as '90s rock gets. While singer Ed Kowalczyk's heart-on-a-sleeve vocals are slightly more subdued here than on previous albums, the overall approach is still earnest enough to avoid the pratfalls of alternative rock postmodernism that mire so many contemporary guitar bands.
  • The songs on SECRET SAMADHI utilize a stripped-down approach that features Kowalczyk's voice prominently, with guitars alternating between moody folk-rock jangle and overdriven grunge. Throughout the album, drummer Chad Gracey and bassist Patrick Dahlheimer work together to provide a ferocious, primal rhythmic assault that prevents even Kowalczyk's headiest lyrics from getting too introspective.
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (4/3/97, p.64) - 3 Stars (out of 5) - "...the band sounds stronger than ever....for all the band's aural bombast, the tone is never judgmental....they exude a rootless sincerity fueled by genuine passion..."

Spin (4/97, pp.154-155) - 6 (out of 10) - "...on SECRET SAMADHI, [Kowalczyk's] bandmates are providing some context. Instead of frantically building every groove, they actually let the songs build and breathe....Live finally seem to have learned a basic spiritual lesson--you don't always have to come and go in such a heated rush."

Q (5/97, p.124) - 3 Stars (out of 5) - "...SECRET SAMADHI....takes no easy options, with a number of bleak, difficult songs, both musically and lyrically..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Secret Samadhi on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top