Fishpond Gift Vouchers - Let them choose!

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Ry Cooder Anthology

Album: The Ry Cooder Anthology: The UFO Has Landed
# Song Title   Time
1)    Get Rhythm
2)    Low--Commotion
3)    Available Space
4)    On a Monday
5)    Do Re Mi
6)    Which Came First
7)    Very Thing That Makes You Rich, The (Makes Me Poor)
8)    Down in Hollywood
9)    Smells Like Money
10)    Let's Work Together - (previously unreleased)
11)    I Got Mine
12)    Cherry Ball Blues
13)    Jesus on the Mainline
14)    Tattler
15)    Teardrops Will Fall
16)    Maria Elena
17)    Jesse James
1)    Paris, Texas
2)    Theme from Southern Comfort
3)    Tamp 'Em Up Solid
4)    Billy the Kid
5)    Crazy 'Bout an Automobile (Every Woman I Know)
6)    Drive Like I Never Been Hurt
7)    Feelin' Bad Blues
8)    Boomer's Story
9)    How Can You Keep Moving (Unless You Migrate Too)
10)    Alimony
11)    Always Lift Him Up/Kanaka Wai Wai
12)    Theme from Alamo Bay
13)    Dark End of the Street
14)    Why Don't You Try Me
15)    Poor Man's Shangri-La
16)    Going Back to Okinawa
17)    Little Sister
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Adapter: Ry Cooder.
  • Personnel: Ry Cooder (vocals, guitar, guitars, electric guitar, tiple, tres, mandola, mandolin, fiddle, accordion, piano, organ, keyboards, vibraphone, bass instrument, percussion); Buckwheat Zydeco (vocals, accordion); Jim Dickinson (vocals, piano, organ, bass instrument); William D. "Smitty" Smith (vocals, piano, organ); Russ Titelman (vocals, electric bass); Bobby "Blanco" King, Terry Evans, Bill Johnson , Herman "P Nut" Johnson, Bobby King (vocals, background vocals); Walter Cook, Dan Penn, Richard Jones , George McCurn, Walter Cook, Gene Mumford, Karl Russell, Richard Jones , Gloria Jones, Juliette Commagere (vocals); David Lindley (guitar, electric guitar, banjo, mandolin, saz); Osamu Kitajima (biwa, koto); Curt Bouterse (dulcimer, flute); Gayle Levant (harp); David Mansfield (violin, cello); Tom Sauber (fiddle); Kazu Matsui (shakuhachi); Marc Savoie, Flaco Jim‚nez, Marc-Andre Savoie (accordion); Steve Douglas (saxophone, midi); Steve Douglas & the Rebel Rousers (saxophone); Plas Johnson (alto saxophone); Fred Jackson Jr., Fred Jackson, Jr. (tenor saxophone); Oscar Brashear (cornet); George Bohannon, George Bohanon (trombone, baritone horn); Benny Powell (trombone); Ronnie Barron (piano, organ); Van Dyke Parks (piano, keyboards); Jesse Harms (synthesizer); Jorge Calder¢n (bass instrument, electric bass); John Duke, Mike Elizondo, Red Callender, Tim Drummond, Tommy McClure , Bill Bryson (bass instrument); Chris Ethridge (electric bass); Joachim Cooder (drums, timbales); Jim Keltner, Milt Holland (drums, percussion); Roger Hawkins (drums); George Pierre, Baboo Pierre, Miguel Cruz (percussion); Willie Green, Jr. , Pico Payne, Greg Prestopino, William "Bill" Greene, Cliff Givens, John Hiatt, Arnold McCuller, Willie Green , Jimmy Adams, Chaka Khan (background vocals); Mariachi Los Camperos, John Barbeda, Max Bennett, Richie Hayward, Roy Estrada, Bobby Bruce.
  • Audio Remasterer: Bernie Grundman.
  • Liner Note Author: Michael Ondaatje.
  • Recording information: Amigo Studios, Los Angeles, CA; Ardent Recording, Memphis, TN; Little Pink Studio, Los Angeles, CA; Moula Banda Studio; Muscle Shoals Sound, Muscle Shoals, AL; Ocean Studio, Burbank, CA; Ocean Way Studios, Hollywood, CA; Sound City Studios, Van Nuys, CA; Susade Studios, Santa Monica, CA; The Burbank Studios; The Complex; The Sound Factory; Village Recorders, Los Angeles, CA; Warner Bros. Studios, North Hollywood, CA; Western Studios, Hollywood, CA; Young Avenue Sound, Memphis, TN.
  • Photographers: Carter Tomassi; Mika Hashimoto; Ed Thrasher; Alan Messer; Frank Bez; Marty Evans; Susan Titelman; Mike Salisbury.
  • Arrangers: Jesus Guzman; Jes£s Guzm n; George Bohanon; Nick DeCaro; Ry Cooder.
  • Given its breadth and stunning stylistic range, summing up the 40-plus year career of guitarist and musical man of the world Ry Cooder is a logistical impossibility, but this two-disc anthology comes close to accomplishing the task. THE RY COODER ANTHOLOGY: THE UFO HAS LANDED skims the cream from the artist's massive output, representing his excursions into blues, folk, soul, rock, and Tex-Mex, among other genres, across 34 tracks.
  • The set kicks off with Cooder's cover of Johnny Cash's "Get Rhythm" and proceeds through traditional tunes ("Jesse James"), film soundtracks ("Paris, Texas"), and collaborations (like the previously unreleased "Let's Work Together" with Buckwheat Zydeco). Cooder's slide guitar work shines throughout, but it's the bringing together of such a remarkable span of music--across years and genres--that makes THE UFO HAS LANDED such a treat.
Professional Reviews
Dirty Linen (p.50) - "[I]t does succeed in demonstrating his far-reaching cultural and stylistic interests and the profound influences he has had on roots music of the last several decades."

Uncut (magazine) - 3 stars out of 5 -- "His soundtrack work is represented by spine-tingling excerpts from PARIS, TEXAS and SOUTHERN COMFORT, and his talent for whisking up a polyrhythmic stew of blues, cajun and zydeco shines on 'Let's Work Together.'"
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
Home » Music » Pop » Country Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Ry Cooder Anthology: The UFO Has Landed on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top