Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Roger the Engineer


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Yardbirds: Keith Relf (vocals, harmonica); Jeff Beck (vocals, guitar, bass); Chris Dreja (guitar); Paul Samwell-Smith (bass); Jim McCarty (drums).
  • Additional personnel: Jimmy Page (guitar, bass); John Paul Jones (bass).
  • Producers: Paul Samwell-Smith, Simon Napier Bell.
  • Reissue producer: Gregg Geller.
  • Recorded at Advision Studios and IBC Studios, London, England in the spring and summer of 1966.
  • Original US LP release was titled "Over Under Sideways Down".
  • Includes original release liner notes by Jim McCarty.
  • This 31 track collection features the original 12 track album from 1966 in a mono version, then the entire album in a stereo version, including 5 bonus single tracks by Keith Relf, as well as 2 mono tracks that open the disc.
  • Personnel: Jeff Beck (vocals, guitar); Keith Relf (vocals, harmonica); Jimmy Page (guitar); Jim McCarty (drums).
  • Liner Note Authors: Val Jennings; John Platt; Jim McCarty ; Jim McCarthy.
  • Recording information: Advision.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: Chris Dreja.
  • By the time the Yardbirds recorded ROGER THE ENGINEER in 1966, the British Invasion was in full swing. Like their brethren, they targeted Chicago blues as ground zero for musical inspiration. As a result, most Yardbirds recordings and live sets were chock full of numbers by the likes of Sonny Boy Williamson, Chuck Berry, and Elmore James. ROGER was a departure for the band, as all the material was self-penned.
  • With guitarist Jeff Beck leading the charge (having replaced departed blues purist Eric Clapton), the Yardbirds began exploring the possibilities of electric guitar and of rock in general. The Middle Eastern garage rock of "Over, Under, Sideways, Down" bumps up against the rockabilly swing of "Jeff's Boogie." Alongside Beck's thrilling guitar histrionics, there's the genteel English pastoral feel of "Farewell" and a quirky instrumental bubbling over with jazz bass, a rubbery-sounding beat, and chanting--"Hot House Of Omagarashid."
Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone (11/11/99, p.137) - 4.5 stars out of 5 - "...unreels [guitarist, Jeff beck's] brilliant pyrodelic riffs....pushing the rhythm to the outer extremes...[into] one spooky sound..."

Rolling Stone (11/11/99, p.137) - 4.5 stars out of 5 - "...unreels [guitarist, Jeff beck's] brilliant pyrodelic riffs....pushing the rhythm to the outer extremes...[into] one spooky sound..."
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Roger the Engineer on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top