Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Right on Time


Product Description
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • The Brothers Johnson: Louis Johnson (vocals, acoustic, electric & 12-string guitars); Louis Johnson (vocals, guitar, bass).
  • Additional personnel: david T. Walker (guitar); Tower Of Power (horns); Dave Grusin (keyboards, synthesizer); Harvey Mason (drums); Ralph MacDonald (percussion).
  • Recorded at A&M Studios, Hollywood, California in 1977.
  • Personnel: George Johnson (vocals, guitar, background vocals); Louis Johnson (guitar, background vocals); Lee Ritenour (guitar); Lenny Pickett (alto saxophone); Emilio Castillo (tenor saxophone); Stephen "Doc" Kupka (baritone saxophone); Mic Gillette (trumpet, trombone); Greg Adams (trumpet); Dave Grusin, Ian Underwood, Michael Boddicker (keyboards, synthesizer); Harvey Mason, Sr. (drums); Ralph MacDonald (percussion); Alexandra Brown, Jim Gilstrap, Alex Weir, Oren Waters, Stephanie Spruill, Mortonette Jenkins, Richard Heath (background vocals).
  • Audio Remasterer: Dave Collins .
  • Audio Remixer: Don Hahn.
  • Recording information: Studio B, Hollywood, CA (02/01/1977-03/21/1977).
  • Director: Ed Eckstine.
  • Photographer: James Fee.
  • Unknown Contributor Role: The Brothers Johnson.
  • Arranger: Quincy Jones.
  • Potentially viewed as something of a warm-up for Quincy Jones before producing Michael Jackson's wildly successful Off the Wall and Thriller albums, the Brothers Johnson's first two releases spawned hits like "I'll Be Good to You" and brought George and Louis Johnson to a mass audience of their own. (Louis, in fact, would go on to play bass on those first two sessions by the King of Pop.) As with the Jackson discs, Jones creates a seamless mix of pop and funk on the Brothers sophomore release Right on Time, helping to create the group's second chart-topper "Strawberry Letter 23" as well the equally effervescent, minor R&B hit "Runnin' for Your Lovin'." With Earth, Wind & Fire's airy dancefloor hits in mind, the Brothers also deliver polished funk tracks like "Right on Time" and "Never Leave You Lonely," as well as more pop-friendly material like "Free Yourself, Be Yourself" and "Love Is." And with one of the best jazz arrangers in the business behind the board, the Brothers couldn't forgo some instrumentals here as well, specifically the breezy, funk-in-a-quiet-storm number "'Q'" and the less intriguing, synthesizer jam "Brother Man." An enjoyable and even infectious collection that, in its sophistication, certainly avoids being just some sort of dry run for Jones. ~ Stephen Cook
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » R&B » Funk
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Right on Time on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top