SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed


Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!
Album: Renegades
# Song Title   Time
1)    White Lines
2)    Call Out
3)    Renegades
4)    Sentimental
5)    This Town
6)    Down by the River
7)    Home
8)    Barking Dogs
9)    City in a Rut
10)    End, The
11)    Left Foot Right
Product Details
Performer Notes
  • Personnel: Grant Nicholas (vocals, guitar, keyboards, percussion).
  • Recording information: Monnow Valley Studios; The Crypt.
  • Photographer: Dean Sherwood.
  • Following the success of 2006's The Singles Collection, Welsh rock trio Feeder have experienced the kind of post-Greatest Hits lull that many artists succumb to once the release of a retrospective plants ideas into the record public's consciousness that their best days are behind them. Released in 2008, Silent Cry was greeted with both a muted critical response and their lowest sales tally since 1997 debut Polythene, drummer Mark Richardson has since left to rejoin his former outfit Skunk Anansie, while the band was forced to leave The Echo Label due to various record company infrastructures. While many bands would fall apart with such disruptive behind-the-scenes shenanigans, Grant Nicholas and Taka Hirose, as we know from their tragic history, are made of sterner stuff. Indeed, free from the shackles of a major label, the duo, now joined by regular Robbie Williams sticksman Karl Brazil, appears more reinvigorated than ever on seventh studio album Renegades, named after the side project the two formed in order to test out its heavier explosive rock sound. Having abandoned any notions of becoming the next U2, the emotive stadium anthems of their three early- to mid-noughties commercial successes have been all but ignored in favor of 11 streamlined Kerrang-friendly bursts of Brit-rock that will undoubtedly please fans who argued they sold out with their "Devon/lemon" rhymes and Match of the Day montage soundtracks. But while the Queens of the Stone Age-esque storming opening number "White Lines" and the frenetically paced punk of "Call Out" provide a convincing return to their mid-'90s beginnings, the rest of the album rarely fails to build on its early promise, with only the ska-tinged title track, the glam leanings of "City in a Rut," and the post-grunge-influenced "Down by the River" offering any respite from its well-worn formula of crunching basslines, distorted vocals, and thrusting guitar riffs. Clocking it at just over half an hour, Renegades shouldn't really have had time to outstay its welcome, but by the time Nicholas plaintively asks "Is this the end of the road?" on the derivative "The End," you are slightly tempted to answer in the affirmative. That would be slightly unfair however, as Renegades does show glimpses of how effective they can be when Nicholas veers away from its repetitive meat-and-two-veg pub rock sound. Their late-'90s headbanging crowd will undoubtedly lap it up, but those who jumped on board with "Buck Rogers" and "Just the Way I'm Feeling" will more than likely abandon ship. ~ Jon O'Brien
Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Music » Pop » Pop Rock
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Renegades on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top