Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Power, Corruption & Lies [Germany]

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Music » Pop

Power, Corruption & Lies [Germany]

Artist: New Order (Recorded By)

Elsewhere $27.49 $14.95   Save $12.54 (46%)
Price includes NZ wide delivery!
Ships from UK
New or Used: $20.99
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Label: London
Album: Power, Corruption & Lies [Germany]
# Song Title   Time
1)    Age of Consent
2)    We All Stand
3)    Village, The
4)    586
5)    Your Silent Face
6)    Ultraviolence
7)    Ecstasy
8)    Leave Me Alone

Performer Notes
  • New Order: Bernard Sumner (vocals, guitar); Gillian Gilbert (guitar, keyboards); Peter Hook (bass); Stephen Morris (drums).
  • Opening with the insistent guitar figure of "Age Of Consent," POWER, CORRUPTION & LIES immediately makes its mission clear: an economical album (its eight tracks barely break 40 minutes), PC&L truly shows a band at the top of its game. Striking a perfect blend between man and machine, the simple, hook-laden guitar work of vocalist Bernard Sumner and thundering yet melodic bass of Peter Hook form a warm, organic center, around which is wrapped an ocean of rich, inventive keyboard textures.
  • Within the cohesive, unified musical vision of POWER, CORRUPTION & LIES are contained many definitive New Order moments: "Your Silent Face" is epic in scope, from its otherworldy throb and lush synth pads straight down to its emotive melodica theme and resigned, understated melody. The wild, danceable "Ecstasy" foreshadowed the club culture that the band was to help inaugurate with its angular instrumentation and relentless synth riffing. The bittersweet closer "Leave Me Alone" features one of Sumner's most tender melodies atop a backdrop of ringing, intertwining twin guitars and halting drumbeat.

Professional Reviews
Rolling Stone - ranked #94 in Rolling Stone's "100 Greatest Albums Of The Eighties" survey (November '89)

Q (9/93, p.97) - 4 Stars - Excellent - "...Joy Division [is] finally buried...the newly confident [New Order are] beginning to embrace dance..."

Mojo (Publisher) (9/01, p.86) - "...Futuristic, speed-driven, exuberant, confident..."

Producer:New Order
Format:CD (0 Disc); Stereo
Country:United States
Studio/Live: Studio
Release Date:8 March, 2000


1. Age Of Consent

2. We All Stand

3. Village

4. 586


5. Your Silent Face

6. Ultraviolence

7. Ecstasy

8. Leave Me Alone

Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Power, Corruption & Lies [Germany] on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.